Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Psychology: Psychology Main Page

Key Databases

Below are the most useful databases to explore the richness of the journal literature in psychology. 

Good Reads

Hoffer, T. A., & Shelton, J. L. E. (2013). Suicide among child sex offenders. New York, NY: Springer.

By providing empirical data and multidisciplinary considerations, the book increases awareness of child sex offender suicide among the various entities which come into contact with this population of offenders. This book attempts to bring awareness of this potentially high risk population to better inform the law enforcement, corrections, and mental health communities of the unique risk factors for suicide among CSOs and provide a more effective crisis response. The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Behavioral Analysis Unit III- Crimes Against Children reviewed and analyzed 106 male Child Sex Offenders (CSO) who committed suicide during the course of a child sex crime investigation.  Of the 106 CSOs, 79% were child pornography traders/collectors, 43% were child molesters, 21% were travelers, and 18% were child pornography producers.  Analyses also revealed that nearly all were Caucasian and the majority were married, employed, and died via self-inflicted gunshot wound.  Of particular interest was that in 26% of the cases, the offender killed himself within 48 hours of his awareness of the investigation; and in nearly half of the known cases, the offender had past/current military service and a criminal history.  In addition, 68% left a suicide note, which is substantially higher than the general suicide population. Analysis of the notes revealed common aspects and themes including cognitive distortions, burdensomeness, shame, and self-blame. The most frequently cited reason for the suicide in the note was the child sex crime investigation (from publisher's website).   

New Libraries' Interface

The WSU LIbraries new discovery platform, Search It is now available. Shared with the other 38 members of the ORBIS Cascade Alliance (our Summit partners), Search It promises to provide students and faculty with more resources easily, resulting in more efficient research and better results.  Have a look at this new resource and let us know what you think!

Find a link to Search It's simple search box here:  Search It Simple Search

To get to Search It's advanced search, click on the button next to the simple search box.  The advanced search contains additional boxes and pull down menus that allow ways (scope, field, material type, language, and publication) for searchers to limit searches. 

Containing many article collections and databases that may or may be useful in a particular search, Search It may be used as an article-level discovery tool (Articles, Books, and More or Everything + (beta)). However, searching Search It should never be viewed as a substitute for the databases identified in this guide as key resources. When using this resource, users should pay particular attention to the limiting options available down the left-hand sidebar of each search results screen where the results may be refined by Library, Type, Author/Creator, Collection, Subject, Publication Date, or Journal Title. These options help users explore the many types of items available through Search It.  

More Discovery Interface Options: Google Scholar and WorldCat

Two more discovery search options to try are Google Scholar, a Google search for library materials, and WorldCat, a worldwide database of library cataloging records that is particularly strong in identifying works and collections on obscure topics housed throughout the world. 

Find a link to Google Scholar here:   Google Scholar

Find a link to WorldCat here:  WorldCat

When using both of these search engines, it is important to remember that Summit and interlibrary loans of materials not owned by WSU Libraries is absolutely free for students, faculty and staff.  When using Google Scholar from one's own device or laptop, it is important to configure the "Library Links" in the "Scholar Settings" to include Washington State University so that Google Scholar can access WSU's paid content. As of July 2014, WorldCat may or may not be tied to WSU's holdings.  If the version that you're using does not list WSU holdings, the holdings will be listed by zip code. 

When in doubt, go ahead and fill out an interlibrary loan request for those needed items that  WSU does not have so that the Libraries' can get these to you as soon as possible. 

Find a link to the Libraries' generic Interlibrary Loan page here:  Interlibrary Loans

Online Reference Works in Psychology

Weiner, I. B. & Craighead, W. E. (2010). The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology, 4th edition.  Hoboken, NJ:  John Wiley.

NEW!!! Kanopy Video-Streaming Offers Content for Instruction, Research, and Pleasure Viewing

Continuing for Fall Semester 2017!

The Libraries has licensed a new educational video streaming service, Kanopy, that offers thousands of documentaries, training films, and theatrical releases.

Click http://wsu.kanopystreaming.com to get started!

At the very top of the Kanopy homepage, notice the "subjects' pull-down list next to the orange "Kanopy" logo.  If you choose "Social Sciences," psychology will be near the bottom of the list of social sciences for your perusal.  

In this more scholarly alternative to Netflix or Amazon Prime, this content is ready for showing in a class, for using in a project, or for just plain viewing.  Do be aware that the software does anonymously keep track of the productions of interest to the WSU audience so that Libraries can purchase viewing rights to the most-watched films.  Certainly, if you decide to plan on showing a production in class regularly, please let me know so that we can work on Kanopy's continued funding. 

 

Welcome!

I hope everyone finds these resources to be valuable in the exploration of this topic.  I am available for classes and private research consultations. My contact information is below. Although I will be away from the Libraries August 12-28 (during that time please use the general http://libraries.wsu.edu/ask), feel free to contact me for further assistance. 

Online DSM-5 Through Psychiatry Online

 This last summer, an online version of DSM-5 was added to the Psychiatry Online database. 

Subject Profile

Christy Zlatos's picture
Christy Zlatos
Contact:
Terrell Library, Room 120L
(509) 335-4536
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us