Skip to main content

Neuroscience

Citation Resources

Neuroscience citation format varies. Consult your instructor or the publication you are writing for. Common citation format resources are listed below. For an overview of more common formats check the WSU Citation Style Quick Guide.

Citation Analysis

  • When you author a publication, be consistent in the form of your name. The standard format is: Last name, first name (or initial), and middle initial. Many databases may list only your last name and first and middle initials, but it's best to provide the full information if requested.
  • Register for an ORCID ID to unambiguously track your scholarly output across disciplines and institutions.This link provides more information about ORCHID.

Bibliographic Management Resources and Tools

Bibliographic Management Resources:   Reference management software will be helpful for senior papers and as a lifelong tool for organizing journal articles and generating citation lists centered around a topic of personal or professional interest. Learn to use Cite-While-You-Write early in your first year and always double check your reference lists; no software is a perfect tool.

  1. EndNote  Most WSU subscribed scholarly databases will seamlessly export citations to EndNote.
  2. Zotero 
    • A free, open-source browser-based software that allows you to save both citations from scholarly databases and freely available web pages  Make sure you are running the latest version of your browser before installing Zotero and install the Zotero connector. 
  3. Other options are: Mendeley, Papers, CiteULike, Faculty1000 and more.

Evaluate bibliographic software based on ease of import/export, ability to organize pdf's and storage capacity, indexing/tagging, annotation ability, sharing features, citation formatting options, and Cite-While-You-Write plug-in options.

See the EndNote Library Guide for links to a comparison chart.

Always make sure that all of the metadata from a citation has been saved, and save a permalink to the article (PMID, doi, or publisher provided) in the URL field. This is the best way to share the citation with others.

If you are using a Mac, you will need to set your CiteWhileYouWrite Preferences in Word under Tools>EndNote>CiteWhileYouWrite Preferences>Application>Chose EndNote OR EndNote online.

Evaluating Journals

1. Journal Authority

  • Web of Science Journal Citation Reports®
  • Impact factor
    • The frequency with which the average article in a journal has been cited in a given year
  • Eigenfactor
    • Citations from more significant journals will score higher
  • SciImago
    • Based on Scopus

2. Article Authority

  • Times Cited

3. Author Authority

  • H index – means of quantifying output – varies by database – X articles with X citations

4. Citation statistics can vary with self-citing, type of article, discipline, etc. See Using Journal Citation Reports Wisely

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)

  • Have you recently written a paper, but you're not sure which journal you should submit it to? Or maybe you want to find relevant articles to cite in your paper? Or are you an editor, and do you need to find reviewers for a particular paper? Jane can help! Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on 'Find journals', 'Find authors' or 'Find Articles'. Jane will then compare your document to millions of documents in Medline to find the best matching journals, authors or articles.
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us