Skip to main content

Hospitality Business Management: Home

Internet Links

Data/Statistics

Restaurant Industry 2017 and Beyond.  National Restaurant Association.

Restaurant Industry Forecast. National Restaurant Association.

Restaurant Industry - State Statistics. National Restaurant Association.

Tourism, Hotel and Lodging Survey. Executive Summary.  U.S. Conference of Mayors and American Hotel & Lodging Association.

Travel & Tourism Economic Impact.  United States.  World Travel & Tourism Council.

Data and Statistics. U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.

Statistics/Outreach. U.S. Office of Travel and Tourism Industries.

U.S. Travel Answer Sheet. U.S. Travel Association.

Impact of Travel on State Economies. U.S. Travel Association. Highlights of most recent report; no full-text available for free.

International Travel Statistics. U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.

World Bank Data.  Search tourism or international tourism in search box.

Research - World Travel & Tourism Council.

Facts & Figures. World Tourism Organization. (UNWTO)

Other Resources

U.S. State Tourism Offices. University of Texas at Austin.

U.S. Chamber of Commerce. Directory.

City-Data.com.

American FactFinder.  Community Facts.  U.S. Census Bureau.

Associations/Organizations

Industry Associations.  List.  HospitalityNet.

National Restaurant Association.

Washington Hospitality Association.

American Hotel & Lodging Association.

International Franchise Association.

U.S. Travel Association.

World Tourism Organization (UNWTO).

World Travel & Tourism Council.

 

Library Catalog

Search IT is the WSU Libraries new shared resource discovery service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, media, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces WSU WorldCat.

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Business Source Complete. A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

EconLit. Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles, working papers, and books dealing with gambling, recreation, tourism, and economic aspects of hotel and restaurant operations, as well as all areas of economics.

PsycINFO. An index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals. Articles date from 1806 - present.

Sociological Abstracts. Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963.

IBISWorld.  Industry research reports for over 700 U.S. industries, at the 5-digit NAICS; over 600 specialized industries; and 73 industries at the global level..

Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis AcademicProvides company information and full-text articles from thousands of news, business, and trade publications.

Global Newsstream from ProQuest. Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers

International Directory of Company Histories.  Provides in depth and up-to-date company history information for United States owned and international companies.

Academic Search Complete.  A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more tha 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals and indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 other journals.      

eStatement Studies.  RMA.  Covers approximately 350 U.S. industries.  Nineteen of the most widely used ratios in the financial services industry accompany the balance sheet  and income statement information, including various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios.  Gives both current and historical data, arranged by NAICS code.

Electronic Reference Books

Print Reference Books

Business and Economics Librarian

Mary Gilles's picture
Mary Gilles
Fall Semester Office Hours: Tuesdays, 2-5pm; Wednesdays, 1-4pm. Or by Appointment.
Contact:
Terrell Library 120E

Office Phone: 509-335-8740

Fax: 509-335-6721

Email Address: gilles@wsu.edu

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us