Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

HON 370 Global Cities: Home

Resources for Global Cities Topics

General Sources

Microforms LibGuide     About microfilm and microfiche formats and the resources of the Microforms Room at WSU Libraries

Primary Sources LibGuide     Information about finding many types of primary sources

Newspapers

Newspapers and News LibGuide     Links to newspapers resources in the WSU Libraries

Chronicling America   Library of Congress-digitized early American newspapers.   1836-1922

Nineteenth Century Newspapers     Access to approximately 500 U.S. newspapers, published between 1800 and 1900.
It includes titles from throughout the United States, many published in what were, at the time, only territories.

New York Times     1851-2006

Times of London      1785-1985

Economist     1843-2012

Seattle Times     1896-1989

ProQuest Newsstand     300+ U.S. and international newspaper sources, 1970's to present

Newspaper Source   Full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.  1980's-present

Lexis-Nexis Academic    Click on 'Search the News' box in the lower left corner, then 'Newspapers' from the Source Type list.  Full-text of many national and international newspapers, dates vary, earliest are mid-1990's.

Ethnic Newswatch    An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. 1960-present

Google News Archive Browse     Digital content from over 200 newspapers, dates vary widely

Monographs

Search It    WSU Libraries' catalog

Finding primary sources in the Search It catalog  How to use primary source-related terms to search for books, both electronic and paper.

Maps

Search the library catalog for maps and atlases related to specific cities. Examples:  Chicago maps; Seoul atlases

Perry-Castaneda Map Library  More than 250,000 maps, about 30% online.

David Rumsey Map Collection     The historical map collection has over 68,000 maps and images online. The collection includes rare 16th through 21st century maps of America, North America, South America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Pacific and the World.

Old Maps Online     Gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.

Maps and Atlases in Holland & Terrell Libraries LibGuide    Information about paper and electronic maps and atlases

Magazines

Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982    A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.  Search the library catalog for the periodical title, many of which are in paper copy in the library.

Academic Search Complete      Interdisciplinary; includes magazines as well as newspapers and scholarly journals.

Digital resources

Digital Public Library of America     The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

HathiTrust Digital Library     A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world

 

Government Information, History, and Asia Studies Librarian

Marilyn Von Seggern
Contact:
Office: Terrell Library 120M
509 335-8859
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us