Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Native American Studies: Home

Music Online

Alexander Street Press's Music Online: American Song database contains some excellent resources for Native American Music. Titles include The Promised Land: American Indian Songs of Lament and Protest (Folkways Records), An Historical Album of Blackfoot Indian Music (Folkways Records), Cry from the Earth: Music of the North American Indians (Folkways Records), and many more. (Note: you will have to log in with your WSU Network ID and password for off-campus access). 

Just getting started?

The Smithsonian Institution's Handbook of North American Indians is a great to begin a research project related to a particular tribe. This 20 volume resource is organized according to region and offers excellent introductory essays covering history, traditions, language, culture, and more.

Native American Studies

For links to online resources, reference books, and websites related to this topic, please click on the appropriate tab at the top of this page.

 

More information on Native American Studies at Washington State University is available through Native American Programs.

Photo of Henry Nelson, Wm., 1906 from the Frank Fuller Avery Collection, WSU Libraries' Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections

 

Use Search It for a general overview of available monographs, articles, Internet resources, and AV materials to inform your research. 

For research assistance related to Native American Studies, please contact Gabriella Reznowski.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Photo of Henry Nelson, Wm., 1906 from the Frank Fuller Avery Collection, WSU Libraries' Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections

 

IM WSU Libraries

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us