Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Music: Research Overview

Music - Overview and LC Map

Music collections and services can be found in several campus library locations:

PEOPLE:

Bob Matuozzi, Librarian for Music. Reference assistance in music is available at the Research Services desk in Terrell Library. Staff in the WSU Libraries assist in the acquisition, preparation, and maintenance of music collections.

Dr. William Payne is  Library Specialist for the music department listening library and associated listening library resouces.  The Kemble Stout Music Listening Library is located in Kimbrough Hall Room 360.


 Library of Congress Classification
Mapped to Holland & Terrell Library

Click on any of the links below to see where these subjects are physically located in Holland & Terrell Library.  The reference books in these classifications are located in the reference area on the first floor of Holland & Terrell Library just off the Atrium.  (The first floor level is the main entrance to the library.)  

A - General Works J - Political Science R - Medicine
B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion K - Law S - Agriculture
C - Auxiliary Sciences of History L - Education T- Technology
D - World History M - Music and Books on Music U - Military Science
E - History of the Americas N - Fine Arts W - WSU
G - Geography, Anthropology, Recreation P - Language and Literature Z - Bibliography
H - Social Sciences Q - Science

Holland and Terrell Stack Chart

Stack Chart

Organizations and Associations

Searching the Audiobooks Collection in the Libraries

 

Go to the Advanced Search screen of Search It and select in subject from the drop-down menu. Type audiobooks in the search box.  Your search should look like the sample image above.

Finding Recordings & Streaming Audio

WSU Libraries’ Media Materials Services provides a growing collection of CDs, all of which can be found in the Search It Catalog, and which may be checked out with a WSU ID card. Here are some tools for finding sound recordings in MMS.

The WSU Libraries subscribe to online music databases delivering classical music, jazz, folk music, and more, providing thousands of tracks of streaming audio, accessible to anyone with a WSU Network ID:

The Kemble Stout Listening Library in Kimbrough Hall Room 360 has a sizable private collection of sound recordings that are the property of the music department. These recordings do not circulate, but anyone can listen to them on-site. This group of recordings is included in Search It (online catalog).

Finding Scores

Kemble Stout Music Listening Library

Although the Stout Listening Library belongs to the Music Department, this publicly accessible facility in Kimbrough Hall Room 360 houses music scores that are purchased and owned by the WSU Libraries. Music scores are the only WSU Libraries’ property to be housed outside of official Libraries’ facilities. Scores may be checked out with a valid WSU ID card.

Citation & Research Tools

Research Services - Arts & Humanities

Bob Matuozzi
Contact:
Holland and Terrell Libraries Terrell 120-J

Office Phone: 509-335-7587



Specialized and advanced research consultations by appointment.

Finding Rare Materials

FINDING RARE, COSTLY AND EPHEMERAL MATERIALS

Books before 1800, glorious facsimiles of medieval and renaissance music books, original and facsimile manuscripts, photographs, concert programs, rare recordings and other such resources requiring special protection are located in the Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections department, on the ground floor of Terrell. Visit the department to see its special music materials.

Collection Development Policy

JSTOR

List of full-text music periodicals currently indexed in JSTOR.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us