Below are the most useful databases to explore the richness of the journal literature in Interior Design.
Dohr, J. H., & Portillo, M. (2011). Design thinking for interiors: Inquiry + experience + impact. Hoboken N.J.: J. Wiley. (eBook)
Take a holistic approach to contemporary interior design.
The interior design process is changing. In order to create truly engaging work, designers are developing a deeper and broader understanding of how design theory, research, and existing practice can help them make better decisions. This inquiry provides answers on how design is experienced, and its impact over time.
At the same time, the profession is becoming increasingly collaborative. Designers today work closely with other professionals—such as architects, landscape designers, product designers, anthropologists, and business consultants—in new ways, engaging an expanding network of experts in the design process more than ever before.
Written by renowned scholars Joy Dohr and Margaret Portillo, the book brings interior design theory and research to life utilizing a narrative inquiry approach that offers highly accessible coverage of the interior design world as it exists today. By looking at real-life stories that demonstrate what makes a memorable design, coupled with photographs and drawings to further illustrate these concepts, this book is a must-read for anyone interested in keeping abreast of interior design in the twenty-first century. (publisher's website)
The WSU LIbraries new discovery platform, Search It is now available. Shared with the other 37-members of the ORBIS Cascade Alliance (our Summit partners), Search It promises to provide students and faculty with more resources easily, resulting in more efficient research and better results. Have a look at this new resource and let us know what you think!
Find a link to Search It's simple search box here: Search It Simple Search
Find a link to Search It's advanced search boxes here: Search It Advanced Search
Containing many article collections and databases that may or may be useful in a particular search, Search It may be used as an article-level discovery tool (Articles, Books, and More or Everything + (beta)). However, searching Search It should never be viewed as a substitute for the databases identified in this guide as key resources. When using this resource, users should pay particular attention to the limiting options available down the left-hand sidebar of each search results screen where the results may be refined by Library, Type, Author/Creator, Collection, Subject, Publication Date, or Journal Title. These options help users explore the many types of items available through Search It.
Two more discovery search options to try are Google Scholar, a Google search for library materials, and WorldCat, a worldwide database of library cataloging records that is particularly strong in identifying works and collections on obscure topics housed throughout the world.
Find a link to Google Scholar here: Google Scholar
Find a link to WorldCat here: WorldCat
When using both of these search engines, it is important to remember that Summit and interlibrary loans of materials not owned by WSU Libraries is absolutely free for students, faculty and staff. When using Google Scholar from one's own device or laptop, it is important to configure the "Library Links" in the "Scholar Settings" to include Washington State University so that Google Scholar can access WSU's paid content. As of July 2014, WorldCat may or may not be tied to WSU's holdings. If the version that you're using does not list WSU holdings, the holdings will be listed by zip code.
When in doubt, go ahead and fill out an interlibrary loan request for those needed items that WSU does not have so that the Libraries' can get these to you as soon as possible.
Find a link to the Libraries' generic Interlibrary Loan page here: Interlibrary Loans
I hope everyone finds these resources to be valuable in the exploration of this topic. This semester I am spending the from lunch hour from 11am-1pm each Wednesday helping students at the Owen Science Library. Otherwise, I am available for classes and private research consultations. My contact information is below. Feel free to contact me for further assistance.