Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Information Systems: Home

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Business Source Complete.  A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

Inspec. Provides abstracts and citations to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering from 1898-present.

EI Compendex. The major index to the engineering literature which provides references and abstracts to over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports from 1884-present.

PsycINFO.  Index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals with coverage back to 1900.

ACM Digital Library. Full text of every journal article, conference proceeding and newsletter ever published by the Association for Computing Machinery.

Sociological Abstracts.  Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963.

Communication & Mass Media Complete.  Comprehensive journal index with full- terxt articles covering the communications and mass media fields.

Education Full Text. This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more.

Academic Search Complete.  A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.

Lexis Nexis Academic.  Provides access to full text information from newspapers, magazines, company annual reports, and more, as well as legal information.

Web of Science.  Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes.  This multidisciplinary index provides topic, author, and cited reference search functions.  Tracks the number of times a work has been cited since its publication.

Journal Citation Reports.  Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

Electronic Reference Books

Print Reference Books

Business and Economics Librarian

Mary Gilles
Fall Reference Hours: Tuesday & Wednesday, 12pm-2pm. Fall Office Hours: Tuesday, 3pm-5pm; Wednesday, 2pm-4pm. Other times by appointment.
Contact:
Terrell Library 120E

Office Phone: 509-335-8740

Fax: 509-335-6721

Email Address: gilles@wsu.edu

Library Catalog

WSU Libraries new shared library management service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us