Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Economic Sciences: Home

Internet Links

Data

Alfred: Archival Federal Reserve Economic Data. Retrieves vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.

American Time Use Survey. Provides statistics and graphical data on the amount of time people in the U.S. spend on various activities.

Beige Book.  Federal Reserve Board of Governors.  A summary of commentary on economic conditions by Federal Reserve districts, published 8 times a year.

Bureau of Economic Analysis, United States Department of Commerce. National and international accounts statistics.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Databases & Tables. Provides access to data from the BLS including inflation and prices, employment, unemployment, pay and benefits, productivity, and more.

Business Dynamics Statistics (BDS): Includes measures of establishment openings and closings, firm startups, job creations and destruction by firm size, age, and industrial sector, and several other statistics on business dynamics; provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Business Employment Dynamics. Statistics generated from the Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages, or ES-202, program, these quarterly data series consist of gross job gains and gross job losses statistics from 1992 forward.

CASSIDI. St. Louis Federal Reserve.  Provides banking competitive analysis information for the United States; institution and market information and "what if" analysis.

Data & Statistics. USA.gov.  Provides links to federal government collected data, by topic.

DATA.gov. U.S. federal government datasets portal.  Provides access to datasets in a wide range of topics.

EconData.  A source of economic time series data from Inforum, at the University of Maryland.         

Economagic.com. Economic Time Series Page. A comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research, particularly economic forecasting.

Economic Data Freely Available Online.  The Economics Network.  Provides links to UK data sites, international data sites, market data, and portal sites.

Economic Indicators.  U.S. Census Bureau. Leading Economic Indicators. The Conference Board.

Employment Research Data Center. W.E. Upjohn Institute. Provides free, downloadable data from many research and evaluation projects sponsored by the U.S. Dept. of Labor.

Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation. Provides data on specific banks and the banking industry.

Federal Reserve Board. Data Sources for Discontinued Statistical Supplement to the Federal Reserve Bulletin. Links to statistics provided by the Federal Reserve.

FedSpending.org. A project of OMB Watch, a nongovernmental agency, this site provides data on contracts, assistance, recovery, and other forms of U.S. government spending.  Information is available by state, congressional district, contracting agency, product/service, or other options.

Foreign Exchange Rates - H.10.  Federal Reserve. 1989 - present.

Foreign Exhange Rates. Treasury Reporting Rates of Exchange. 1956 - 2005.

FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research. Provides links to scanned images of historical economic statistic publications.

FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data. A database of over 13.000 U.S. economic time series.

Gini Index.  CIA World Factbook.  Current information.  Gini Index.  World Bank.  Information back to 1980, when available. World Income Inequality Database. (WIID2).  United Nations University.  Reports Gini back to 1960.

Happiest Countries in the World.  2012

Human Development Index. United Nations Development Programme.

International Monetary Fund.  Data and Statistics.  Although much of the IMF data still requires a paid subscription, some of it is available free.

IPUMSusa. Integrated Public Microdata Series.  Census microdata for social and economic research; available free.

OANDA, The Currency Site. Real-time foreign exchange rates and conversion rates.

Penn World Table.  Provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories for some or all of the years 1950-2010.

Resources for Economists on the Internet. An extensive directory, organized in general categories. Sponsored by the American Economic Association. "Data" icon provides links to a large number of data sources and data sets.

Social Science Data Search. Targets 800+ academic, government agency, non-profit, and other web sites that provide high quality, downloadable statistical information and data sets. Emphasis is on data pertaining to the social sciences, health, developing countries, energy, natural resources, and the environment.

Statistical Abstract of the United States: Earlier Editions.  The U.S. Census Bureau provides statistics back to 1789 on a wide range of topics.

Statistics Resources and Big Data on the Internet. Marcus P. Zillman has compiled a best practices bibliography of sites and reliable sources focused on the hot topic of statistics and big data. These sources are representative of multiple publishers, national and global - government, academia, NGOs, and industry, many of which leverage open source and collaborative applications.

UN Comtrade. Contains more than 1.75 billion trade records starting from 1962.

UNdata: A World of Information. Provides international statistics and data sets on a broad range of topics from more than 30 United Nations databases.

U.S. Economic Indicators.  Provides economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics from April 1995 - present.

U.S. Economy at a Glance. This site, from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides easy access to U.S. economic information.

U.S. National Agricultural Statistics Service.  Data and Statistics. Interactive, online database of U.S. agricultural statistics at the county, state and U.S. levels.  Covers crops and plants, livestock and animals, demographics, economics, and environmental aspects of U.S. agriculture.

University of California, Bekeley. Statistics & Numeric Data in Economics. Selected sources of economic statistics and numeric data that are licensed by the UC Berkeley libraries and available freely on the web.  Not all the sources are available to WSU students and faculty.

World Bank Data.  As a leader in transparency and accountability, the World Bank has made its data available free.  The World Development Indicators, Global Development Finance, and other data by country and topic is available.

News

The Dismal Scientist. Includes news articles and economic releases.

Economist.com. Complements The Economist in print.

Research

AgEcon Search. University of Minnesota.  Containing over 60,00 papers, it is an open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics.

Economic Policy Institute. EPI disseminates research in five main areas: living standards/labor markets, government and the economy, globalization and trade, politics and public opinion, and sustainable economics.

Economics Research Network. Part of the Social Science Research Network. This database contains information about working papers and articles and some links to free full-text.

Fed in Print.  Comprehensive index to Federal Reserve research.

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. This resource links to free full-text of working papers.

NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research. Provides full text access to NBER research and publications.

Resources for Economists on the Internet. An extensive directory, organized in general categories. Sponsored by the American Economic Association.

WebEc. A gateway to free resources grouped into topical categories.

Other

DataFerrett. A data mining and extraction tool that allows the user to select variables and recode them as needed. Runs on an application icon the user installs on the desktop.

List of Free Statistical Software.

RePEc Genealogy. Documents, within the field of economics, who was a student of whom, when and where.

 

 

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

EconLit Primary index in economics, it provides citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969.

Business Source Complete  Primary index in business, it provides citations, abstracts, and full-text articles to many journals in economics and related areas.

AGRICOLA  Includes over 3.5 million citations to journal articles, books, book chapters and other materials acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions.

CAB Direct Citations with abstracts to the world literature on all aspects of agriculture including forestry and nutrition.

AGRIS (FAO)  An international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology, AGRIS was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. 

Lexis Nexis Academic  Provides full text of legal sources, thousands of news sources, and company information.

Web of Science  Includes Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science Citation Indexes.  This multidisciplinary index provides topic, author, and cited reference search functions.  Tracks the number of times a work has been cited since its publication.

Journal Citation Reports  Resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

PAIS International  Contains citations with summaries to all types of publications in the area of world public affairs from 1915 to the present.

USA Trade Online.  Assists in finding specific U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities world wide. It is the most current US Merchandise Trade data available.  Access is limited to a designated computer in Terrell Library Reference area and the Owen Science and Engineering Library Reference area.

IFS CD-ROM.  International Monetary Fund.  International Financeial Statistics on CD-ROM; access to this database is limited to a designated computer in Terrell Library Reference area; updated monthly.

Data Sets

The primary source for data sets for Washington State University faculty and students is the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You can download directly from ICPSR to any computer on one of the WSU campuses. For more information about acquiring data files and what machine readable data files are held in the Holland and Terrell Libraries, see the Social Sciences Data: ICPSR and More.  Also, see Data entries under Internet Links on this LibGuide.

Print Reference Books

Business and Economics Librarian

Mary Gilles
Fall Reference Hours: Tuesday & Wednesday, 12pm-2pm. Fall Office Hours: Tuesday, 3pm-5pm; Wednesday, 2pm-4pm. Other times by appointment.
Contact:
Terrell Library 120E

Office Phone: 509-335-8740

Fax: 509-335-6721

Email Address: gilles@wsu.edu

Library Catalog

WSU Libraries new shared library management service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces Griffin and WSU WorldCat.

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us