Pubmed: is an index to the world's medical, medical research and molecular biology literature. This database includes links to the WSU Libraries holdings, including links to electronic journals.
Also accessible via the Pubmeb website are the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) biological sequence databases, including
- Nucleotides database: is a collection of sequences from several sources (including GenBank, RefSeq and PDB)
- Protein database: that have been compiled from a variety of sources, including SwissProt, PIR, PRF, PDB, and translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank and RefSeq. protein database is cross-linked to the Entrez taxonomy database. This allows you to find taxonomy information for the species from which a protein sequence was derived.
- Genomes database:The whole genomes of over 1000 viruses and over 100 microbes and includes macroscopic organisms. The genomes represent both completely sequenced organisms and those for which sequencing is in progress.
- Stucture or Molecular Modelling Database (MMDB): contains 3-D macromolecular structures, including proteins and polynucleotides. MMDB contains over 10,000 structures and is linked to the rest of the NCBI databases, including sequences, bibliographic citations, taxonomic classifications, and sequence and structure neighbors
- Taxonomy database: contains the names of all organisms that are represented in the genetic databases with at least one nucleotide or protein sequence
- OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man): This database is a catalog of human genes and genetic disorders authored and edited by Dr. Victor A. McKusick and his colleagues at Johns Hopkins and elsewhere, and developed for the World Wide Web by NCBI