Skip to main content

WSU Extension: Home

Resource tips and links for WSU Extension

Human Development, Nutrition, 4-H etc... Databases

Academic Search Complete: Use this as your GO - TO database for "user-friendly" articles for your programs and classes. A variety of topics covering health, social services, and human development subject areas. Click on the "Magazine, Newspaper, and Trade Journal" check-boxes in the left sidebar to find sources geared towards the general public. Use the "Scholarly Articles" check-box to locate peer-reveiwed recources for your own research.

Sociological Abstracts: Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963. Updated 6 times a year. Peer-reviewed sources ideal for your own research.

PsycINFO: An index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals. Articles date from 1806 - present. Note: There are less than 146 records with publication dates prior to 1890. Updated weekly. Peer-reviewed sources ideal for your own research.

CINAHL Complete: CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Includes hundreds of articles on human nutrition realted topics. Peer-reviewed sources ideal for your own research.

Article Index and Database Information

Listed below are boxes with a few select databases in the areas of agriculture and human develeopment and nutrition.

Obviously, the Extension sites are more complex than this. For a full listing of the WSU subscription indexes and databases please go to the A-Z alphabetic listing or Subject listing. There you will find more than 200 subscriptions in everything from Economics and Human Development to Social Work and Sports Studies. Find Journal Articles Page

Agriculture Indexes, Abstracts, and other Databases

  • AGRICOLA Covers publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture, economics, education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. AGRICOLA is produced by the National Agricultural Library. This database includes selected materials dating back to the 17th century but full coverage starts in 1970.
  • AGRIS (1975-present): A database to the scientific literature of Agriculture produced by the FAO. It is searcheable in English, French or Spanish.
  • BIOSIS Previews (1969-present): Covers literature in all areas of biology and related disciplines. To review biological literature published before 1969 consult Biological Abstracts located on the first floor of Owen Library from 1927 to 1995.
  • CAB Abstracts (1910-present): CAB provides citations with abstracts to agricultural literature including: agronomy, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental sciences, genetics, irrigation, recreation and tourism, microbiology, rural development, and veterinary medicine.
  • Dissertations & Theses (coverage varies): Database of more than two million dissertations and selected theses. More recent dissertations and theses (published from the 1980s to the present) include abstracts. A select few titles include free, twenty-four page previews. Complete dissertations and theses are not available, and must be purchased. 
  • IMI Descriptions of Fungi and Bacteria Available in print courtesy of the WSU Libraries and in the Owen Science Library AgSci Collection QR145.C6
  • Springer Protocols is a database of reproducible laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiling protocols from Humana�s successful book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals, Springer Protocols offers researchers access to nearly thirty years worth of time tested, easily reproducible, step-by-step protocols for immediate use in their lab. 
  • Web of Science (1980-present): The web version of the Science Citation Index, Web of Science covers journals in Science, Engineering, Agriculture and Medicine. Web of Sciences allows users to see how often an article was cited and view those citations, view the citations the author used, and search by citation. To review scientific literature published before 1980 consult the Science Citation Index located on the first floor of the Owen Library, A&I East-Alcove   Z7401 .S365.
  • World Intellectual Property Office patent database: This site also provides access to other intellectual property data collections hosted by the World Intellectual Property Organization.

Agriculture & Instruction Librarian

Lara Cummings's picture
Lara Cummings
Contact:
127 Owen Science & Engineering Library

509-335-8071
Social:Twitter Page
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us