Skip to main content

Education

General Hints

The Libraries maintains an integrated library system, Search It, to access and organize the many items (books, journal articles, reports, media, etc.).  Click in the box to leave this guide and use the SearchIT system!

Additionally, Search It provides access to items provided through Google Scholar, if WSU-affiliated library users upload the WSU Libraries website into the "library links" area of Google Scholar's settings (see the  Google Scholar box below).  The Libraries also provides access to approximately 150 specialized subject databases through its website's Find Articles/Databases section.  The databases generally of interest to this discipline are detailed in the box below.

Key Databases

Below are the most useful databases to explore the richness of the journal literature in higher education. 

Tune Up Your Google Scholar to Tap into LIbraries' Resources!

The Libraries spends millions each year to bring resources to faculty and students. To gain access to WSU Libraries' content without physically cutting and pasting into the Libraries' SearchIt manually, type "Washington State University Libraries" in the located in the library links section of Google Scholar's settings and check all the WSU Libraries server entries.  When this is done, all the content that the Libraries' provides will appear as links in Google Scholar that read WSU full text, Find It @ WSU, or the word, More, at the bottom of a citation.  Try all of a citation's links to see which works best. 

Click in the box to leave this guide and go to this page in Google Scholar!!

Worldcat.org: The World's Largest Library Catalog

A database of library catalog records billed as the world's largest library catalog, WorldCat is a wonderful place to find publication information for obscure books and reports, archival materials, and very new books that haven't been purchased by a library in the Pacific Northwest  Useful for interlibrary loans, for ordering, and sometimes just to know, Worldcat gives bibliographic information and lists the libraries in the world where a work might be housed.

Click in the image's box to leave this page and go to the WorldCat database.

Education Online Reference Works

Below are some online education reference works.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us