"Constellate is the text analytics service from the not-for-profit ITHAKA - the same people who brought you JSTOR and Portico. It is a platform for teaching, learning, and performing text analysis using the world’s leading archival repositories of scholarly and primary source content."
12/21 - Replacement for JStor's Data for Research Program. "As with DfR, anyone can use Constellate and download datasets of non-consumptive content (content that can't be used to reconstruct the original full text). If your dataset contains open content, you'll get the full text. " Additional options for dataset downloads available.

free registration required. Includes conference papers, for example, from the American Political Science Association.

"Welcome to the media repository for the PolMeth Society. Here you may peruse the Papers, Posters, and Syllabi cataloged here by our members."

Can you trace the dataset?

Open dataset from CORE : http://core.ac.uk/intro/data_dumps

pp. 15-16

A list of databases/publishers/vendors (not all available via the WSU Libraries) with APIs that can be used for data mining and more.

Not all resources listed are available via the WSU Libraries.

An incredible database of out-of-copyright newspapers. Check for the Pullman Herald for a local POV!
(Just for fun, check out this post on "high profile stories" about cats: Cat Tales
See also: Washington Digital Newspapers

"When you enter phrases into the Google Books Ngram Viewer, it displays a graph showing how those phrases have occurred in a corpus of books (e.g., "British English", "English Fiction", "French") over the selected years."

"To get a sense of the language used on Reddit, we parsed every comment from late 2007 through August 2015 and built the tool above, which enables you to search for a word or phrase to see how its popularity has changed over time."

"ECCO-TCP is a partnership with Gale, part of Cengage Learning, to produce highly accurate, fully-searchable, SGML/XML-encoded texts from among the 150,000 titles available in the Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) database." Free, includes data and metadata.

I'm not sure how much is accessible.

text of legislation, congressional hearings, and more.

Genealogical data

Linguistic analysis resources (tools, corpora, and more).

"StringNet is an English lexico-grammatical knowledgebase consisting of multiword patterns of word behavior. These are represented by what we call hybrid n-grams and their relations to each other. Currently, StringNet contains about two billion hybrid n-grams extracted from the British National Corpus (BNC), each hybrid n-gram linked to all tokens attested in BNC."

"A freeware corpus analysis toolkit for concordancing and text analysis."

Now updated by Martin Weisser

freely available library catalog - bibliographic data, some tagging, ratings, reviews, and user lists (but hard to locate)

(Note it is available in multiple languages)

There is a registration process for this. WSU is a member of HathiTrust - logging in provides more access and functionality.

12/5/16: for more information about this new big dataset, see this press release

has an API

A list of corpora - nice! Includes The Corpus of Contemporary American English.

Includes links to 4 corpora (one link is bad, but the database is in the BYU corpora set)

"CORE harvests, maintains, enriches and makes available metadata and full-text content (typically a PDF) from many Open Access journals and repositories."
More info

"OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories."

"DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone."