In some cases, the "Other ...titles" queries in the boxes on this page might result in a large search set.  Please note that you may limit and refine searches by using the various linked options indicated on the search results screen or by selecting from the different options available in the library catalog search interface.  You can also sort these lists chronologically, by author, or by title.

Specialized series of scholarly studies treating religions, religious texts and doctrines,  historical figures, and other religious phenomena from a variety of perspectives.

The Blackwell Companions to Religion series presents a collection of the most recent scholarship and knowledge about world religions. Each volume draws together newly-commissioned essays by distinguished authors in the field, and is presented in a style which is accessible to undergraduate students, as well as scholars and the interested general reader.  These volumes approach the subject in a creative and forward-thinking style, providing a forum in which leading scholars in the field can make their views and research available to a wider audience.

The spiritual landscape of contemporary America is as varied and complex as that of any country in the world. The books in this series, written by leading scholars for students and general readers alike, fall into two categories: Some titles are portraits of the country’s major religious groups. They describe and explain particular religious practices and rituals, beliefs, and major challenges facing a given community today. Others explore current themes and topics in American religion that cut across denominational lines. The texts are supplemented with carefully selected photographs and artwork, and annotated bibliographies.

Contemporary series in feminist theorizing on the intersection of gender, theology, technology, sexual difference, love, ethics, and various cultural themes.

Extensive list of specialized monographs on ethical and moral issues and on religious practices, symbols, histories, and theologies in local, regional, and national contexts, from all time periods.

Wide-ranging studies emphasizing non-Western religions and religious practices.

The ambition of the Stanford series is to move beyond a narrow disciplinarity based on conventional historical premises and to refocus contemporary cultural studies in the direction of close reading. Its themes include boundary-crossing projects and interrogations of canon and institutions in philosophy, religion, anthropology, literature, media studies, and visual analysis.

The series seeks to foster approaches that combine innovative theoretical perspective, close attention to the detail of the cultural object, and an effort of interpretation geared to the meaning of the object for a present that is not amnesiac.

Using the tools of philosophy and critical theory to examine the political implications of the religious turn, this series from Columbia University Press addresses a range of religious traditions and political viewpoints in the United States, Europe, and other parts of the world to explore the radical emancipatory potential of religion.

Presents a focused cluster of high profile titles exploring the critical issues of contemporary society and culture, and relationships to and within living religions. Each book offers an accessible, stimulating new contribution to key topics. The series explores constructions of religion and religious issues from a range of perspectives, offering accessible texts by scholars based within and outside traditional religious studies who are able to bring immersion in their own disciplines to the study of contemporary religion, culture and society, enriching understanding across all three elements. 

Each volume in this series of companions to major topics and key figures in theology and religious studies contains specially commissioned essays by international scholars providing an accessible and stimulating introduction to the subject for new readers and non-specialists alike. Like the highly successful Cambridge Companions to Literature and Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, these volumes are ideal for use by students on relevant courses, and by general interested readers.

Seeks to cover the whole area of literature written in the major medieval languages - the main European vernaculars, and medieval Latin and Greek - during the period c.1100–1500. Its chief aim is to publish and stimulate fresh scholarship and criticism on medieval literature, special emphasis being placed on understanding major works of poetry, prose, and drama in relation to the contemporary culture and learning which fostered them.

Multi-volume series offers a comprehensive chronological account of the development of Christianity in all its aspects – theological, intellectual, social, political, regional, and globally – from its beginnings to the present day. Eastern and Coptic Christianity are given full consideration from the early period onwards, and African, Far Eastern, New World, South Asian and other non-European developments in Christianity are covered. Volumes cover popular piety and non-formal expressions of Christian faith and treat the sociology of Christian formation, worship, and devotion in a broad cultural context.

Provides a full survey of Christian churches and their part in humanity’s religious heritage, spanning both the globe and history from apostolic times to the present day.  The authors pay particular attention to the place of the church in surrounding society, the institutions of church life, manifestations of popular religion, the link between forms of national culture, and the intellectual tradition within Europe and beyond.

This series offers brief, accessible, and lively accounts of key topics within theology and religion. Each volume presents both academic and general readers with a selected history of topics which have had a profound effect on religious and cultural life.

Includes works by scholars in religious studies, political science, history, cultural anthropology, economics, social psychology, and other allied fields whose work sustains multidisciplinary and comparative as well as transnational analyses of historical and contemporary issues. The series focuses on issues related to questions of difference, identity, and practice within local, national, and international contexts.

Lives of Great Religious Books is a new series of short volumes that recount the complex and fascinating histories of important religious texts from around the world.  They examine the historical origins of texts from the great religious traditions, and trace how their reception, interpretation, and influence have changed--often radically--over time.

Intended for a broad audience, the Cambridge Bible series includes The New Cambridge Bible Commentary and the earlier Cambridge Bible Commentary, New English Bible.  Both series make accessible, and build upon, many of the advances in theory and theology produced in universities and seminaries during the last thirty years. Utilizing recent gains in rhetorical criticism, social scientific study of the scriptures, narrative criticism and other developing disciplines, these monograph series intend to provide a fresh look at biblical texts, taking advantage of the growing edges in Biblical Studies.

Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Science and religion have often been thought to be at loggerheads but much contemporary work in this flourishing interdisciplinary field suggests this is far from the case. This series presents exciting new work to advance interdisciplinary study, research and debate across key themes in science and religion, exploring the philosophical relations between the physical and social sciences on the one hand and religious belief on the other. Contemporary issues in philosophy and theology are debated, as are prevailing cultural assumptions arising from the 'post-modernist' distaste for many forms of reasoning. The series enables leading international authors from a range of different disciplinary perspectives to apply the insights of the various sciences, theology and philosophy and look at the relations between the different disciplines and the rational connections that can be made between them.

Provides sophisticated and authoritative overviews of periods of ancient history, genres of classical literature, and the most important themes in ancient culture. Each volume comprises approximately twenty-five and forty concise essays written by individual scholars within their area of specialization.

Specialized mongraphs on religion, literature, technology, and cultural history from the University of Pennsylvania.

The Anchor Yale Bible series is a project of international and interfaith scope in which Protestant, Catholic, and Jewish scholars from many countries contribute individual volumes. The project is not sponsored by any ecclesiastical organization and is not intended to reflect any particular theological doctrine.

The Anchor Yale Bible is committed to producing commentaries in the tradition established half a century ago by the founders of the series, William Foxwell Albright and David Noel Freedman. It aims to present the best contemporary scholarship in a way that is accessible not only to scholars but also to the educated nonspecialist. Its approach is grounded in exact translation of the ancient languages and an appreciation of the historical and cultural context in which the biblical books were written supplemented by insights from modern methods, such as sociological and literary criticism.

Concise introductory monographs on a wide range of topics, including the arts and humanities.