LibGuides: Criminal Justice 311 (Online): Finding and Getting Articles

Tab To-Do List:

1. Be sure to have reviewed the "About Journals and Articles" tab

2. Watch the demo video (linked at the top of the middle column)

3. Review all the boxes on this tab

4.. Look for a scholarly article relevant to your research interest in Criminal Justice Abstracts and email yourself the record from the database

Criminal Justice Databases

Criminal Justice Abstracts [9/2021 Update - Unfortunately this database has been cancelled. ]
contains citations to journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminal justice, criminology,and related disciplines. Covers 1968-present.

A more extensive list of Criminal Justice-related databases and online reference works. You will find many articles on criminal justice topics in Search It (remember to click the expand button to get more results) but you may find that searching specific disciplinary databases provides more relevant articles.

Note: You *will* have to make an interlibrary loan request for a journal article that is not available electronically, or not available though the WSU Pullman collection at all unless you are surprisingly fortunate. Be sure to review the Services for WSU Global Campus Students tab of this guide for more information about making ILL requests.

A demo YouTube video about how to find articles in Criminal Justice Abstracts and more. You may also want to review the Searching Tips and Tricks tab in this library guide.

Note: as of 7/18 the video is not closed-captioned

A recorded one-hour webinar I did for WSU's Global Campus on database searching: A Database Deep Dive. Note: this video is closed-captioned.

Sociological Abstracts
Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963.
NCJRS Database
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service - includes abstracts of publications from gov't agencies, think tanks/research institutes, and trade/professional publications (intended for practitioners, i.e. police officers and corrections officials) so its very real-world oriented. Goes back to 1970.
Social Sciences Abstracts
This is a good database for looking for topics that are multidisciplinary, for example, a search on "three strikes" laws may cross between the disciplines of political science (how did the law come to be?), law (how does the law work in the courts), and criminal justice (effect on prison populations, recidivism, etc.). See Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective for articles older than 1984 if needed.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Provides access to full text legal resources (law reviews, legal magazines, cases) Also has news and business articles.
PsycINFO
Citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals. Articles date from 1806 - present.

Bibliography of Data-Related Literature (ICPSR)
"a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive." Every single citation in this database is based on research and the use of collected data.

Legal Collection [EBSCO]
Articles from law reviews and other legal journals and other publications.
ProQuest Congressional (formerly Congressional Lexis-Nexis)
Provides access to publications by and about the U.S. Congress, including hearings, bill texts, legislative histories, voting records, congressional calendars, hot topics and more. Updated daily and contains some fulltext. Dates of Coverage: 1969 - present
Military and Government Collection [EBSCO]
"Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites."
Homeland Security Digital Library
"The HSDL is the nation's premier collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. It supports local, state and federal analysis and decision-making needs and assists academics of all disciplines in homeland defense and security related research. The HSDL provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and research reports from various universities and local and state agencies."
Social Sciences Citation Index
Web of Science ; SEE ALSO Google Scholar/Google Scholar Citations.
TRACFed (Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC))
Government information about federal government enforcement, staffing and spending; this may not continue after next year.

General Interest Databases

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
JSTOR
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html

America: History and Life (U.S. and Canada)
Citations and abstracts to publications on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes journals, books, reviews, and dissertations. Covers 1964-present.
Historical Abstracts (Rest of World)
Citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present.
Citation Databases (Web of Science, Google Scholar)
ArticleFirst
Multidisciplinary index of scholarly articles from over 12,000 journals going back to 1990. Great coverage, but no abstracts.
ECO: Electronic Collections Online
Multidisciplinary database that includes considerable full-text.
Microsoft Academic (will be retired 12/31/2021)
"Microsoft Academic (MA) employs advances in machine learning, semantic inference and knowledge discovery to help you explore scholarly information in more powerful ways than ever before."

Finding Media (Streaming, DVD, VHS, etc)

Filmaker's Library Online (Alexander Street)
Filmakers Library Online provides documentaries for streaming video use across the university's curriculum. There are 1,018 titles covering all academic areas. Particular strengths include history, health, and social science topics. You can create short clips.
Searching for Media in Search It [Library Guide]
Use this to find DVDs, CDs, and other kinds of media available for check-out from the WSU Libraries. Hint: in a simple search after you do your search you can filter by the Video and/or Audio "Type" options. In Advanced Search you can pre-filter by Material Type - options include Audio, Video for physical items, i.e. DVDs, and "eAudio and eVideo" for streaming video, music, and audiobooks.
Library guide on Streaming Media

Libraries

Criminal Justice 311 (Online)

Tab To-Do List:

Criminal Justice Databases

General Interest Databases

Finding Media (Streaming, DVD, VHS, etc)