Skip to main content

Construction Management: Construction Management Main Page

Key Databases

Below are the most useful databases to explore the richness of the journal literature in Construction Management.

Good Read

 
Radosavljevic, M., & Bennett, J. (2012). Construction management strategies: A theory of construction management. Chichester, West Sussex, UK: Wiley-Blackwell. (eBook)

The construction industry has become a truly global network of interconnected stakeholders making demands which require the involvement of skilled workforces from all over the world. Construction Management Strategies sets the foundations for understanding and managing construction’s inherent complexity and uniqueness. It establishes clear definitions of commonly accepted terms like built environment, construction, civil engineering, etc. which are often given confusing and conflicting interpretations. It cuts through the plethora of overlapping role titles currently used in the construction sector that make it difficult to establish how projects are actually managed.

Construction Management Strategies:

  • Offers a robust and consistent theoretical basis to explain the performance of the main approaches to construction management.
  • Describes corporate and project management in construction as an integrated whole.
  • Provides the basic toolkit a student needs to think through the practical situations they will later face.
  • Helps bring the theory of construction management to international students who struggle to find a solid grounding in this complex and fragmented subject.
  • Includes a companion website featuring a wealth of directly transferable examples for students, as well as PPT slides and topic discussion ideas for lecturers (...from Publisher's website).

U.S. Route 20, Pioneer Mountain-Eddyville Road Clearing, Oregon

Road Blasting Crew, U.S. Route 20, Pioneer Mountain-Eddyville Road Clearing, Oregon.

Courtesy Wikimedia Commons.

New Libraries' Interface

The WSU LIbraries new discovery platform, Search It is now available. Shared with the other 38 members of the ORBIS Cascade Alliance (our Summit partners), Search It promises to provide students and faculty with more resources easily, resulting in more efficient research and better results.  Have a look at this new resource and let us know what you think!

Find a link to Search It's simple search box here:  Search It Simple Search

To get to Search It's advanced search, click on the button next to the simple search box.  The advanced search contains additional boxes and pull down menus that allow ways (scope, field, material type, language, and publication) for searchers to limit searches. 

Containing many article collections and databases that may or may be useful in a particular search, Search It may be used as an article-level discovery tool (Articles, Books, and More or Everything + (beta)). However, searching Search It should never be viewed as a substitute for the databases identified in this guide as key resources. When using this resource, users should pay particular attention to the limiting options available down the left-hand sidebar of each search results screen where the results may be refined by Library, Type, Author/Creator, Collection, Subject, Publication Date, or Journal Title. These options help users explore the many types of items available through Search It.  

More Discovery Interface Options: Google Scholar and WorldCat

Two more discovery search options to try are Google Scholar, a Google search for library materials, and WorldCat, a worldwide database of library cataloging records that is particularly strong in identifying works and collections on obscure topics housed throughout the world. 

Find a link to Google Scholar here:   Google Scholar

Find a link to WorldCat here:  WorldCat

When using both of these search engines, it is important to remember that Summit and interlibrary loans of materials not owned by WSU Libraries is absolutely free for students, faculty and staff.  When using Google Scholar from one's own device or laptop, it is important to configure the "Library Links" in the "Scholar Settings" to include Washington State University so that Google Scholar can access WSU's paid content. As of July 2014, WorldCat may or may not be tied to WSU's holdings.  If the version that you're using does not list WSU holdings, the holdings will be listed by zip code. 

When in doubt, go ahead and fill out an interlibrary loan request for those needed items that  WSU does not have so that the Libraries' can get these to you as soon as possible. 

Find a link to the Libraries' generic Interlibrary Loan page here:  Interlibrary Loans

Interesting e-Books

 

Reddy, K. P.  (2011). BIM for Building Owners and Developers. Chicester: Wiley. (eBook)

Perkins, L. B. (2013). Building type basics for senior living (Second Edition) Chicester: Wiley (eBook)

Kelley, G. S. (2013). Construction law: An introduction for engineers, architects, and contractors. Hoboken, N.J: John Wiley & Sons. (eBook)

Ground Zero Construction Site

Photograph by Andrea Booher in New York, September 28,2001.

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons.

Welcome!

I hope that this Libguide is helpful and I welcome suggestions for its improvement. 

The Architecture Library was moved from Carpenter Hall in the summer of 2012 to the second floor of the Owen Science Library.  The Owen Science Library is located close to Carpenter Hall--about 300 feet east of Carpenter Hall on College Street.  

The Owen Science Library hours are:

Mon - Thurs 7:30am -- 8:45am

Friday  7:30am -- 5;45pm

Saturday  1:00pm --5:45pm

Sunday  noon -- 8:45pm

As the Construction Management subject liaison, I am available by email or in person for class presentations or student research consultations.  Although I will be away from the Libraries from August 12-28, 2017 (during this time please contact the general http://libraries.wsu.edu/ask), feel free to contact me any time.  My contact information is below.    

 

 

 

Subject Profile

Christy Zlatos's picture
Christy Zlatos
Contact:
Terrell Library, Room 120L
(509) 335-4536

Lunch Atop a Skyscraper, 1932

Lunch Atop a Skyscraper, 1932. Photo by Charles C. Ebbets.

Courtesy Wikimedia Commons. 

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us