LibGuides: Management: Home

Databases, Indexes, Specialized Resources

Business Source Complete. A definitive scholarly business database, providing an extensive collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts are provided for the most important scholarly business journals back to the early 20th Century.

Academic Search Complete. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.

PsycInfo. Index with summaries of citations to articles in over 1,300 psychology research journals with coverage back to 1900.

Sociological Abstracts. Citations with abstracts to articles on all aspects of sociology, social work, and other social sciences since 1963.

Communication & Mass Media Complete. Comprehensive journal index with full- text articles covering the communications and mass media fields.

Internet Links

Associations/Organizations

Human Resources Associations. Directory

American Management Association (AMA)

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)

International Association for Human Resource Information Management (IHRIM)

Association for Talent Development

Library Catalog

Search It is the WSU Libraries shared resource discovery service. With Search It, patrons can use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, media, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.

Electronic Reference Books

Oxford Handbooks Online. Business and Management
Publication Date: 2008-
The series includes: The Oxford Handbook of Critical Management Studies, The Oxford Handbook of Human Capital, The Oxford Handbook of Human Resource Management, The Oxford Handbook of Management Consulting, The Oxford Handbook of Organization Theory, The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Decision Making, The Oxford Handbook of Organizational Well Being, The Oxford Handbook of Participation in Organizations, The Oxford Handbook of Personnel Psychology, and other handbooks.
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by George Thomas Kurian
ISBN: 9780814420287
Publication Date: 2013
Provides clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms. Covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more--all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years.
Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management by William J. Rothwell (Contribution by); Robert K. Prescott (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9781118189665
Publication Date: 2012
The three volumes in The Encyclopedia of Human Resource Management offer a comprehensive review of the essential issues and most important information available on the topic. Each volume in the encyclopedia contains contributions from some of the most celebrated names in the field of human resource management (HRM) and addresses the myriad challenges faced by today's human resource professionals.
Dictionary of Human Resource Management by Edmund Heery
ISBN: 0191726710
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology by Steven G. Rogelberg (editor)
Publication Date: 2007
Presents a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. Covers cutting-edge topics such as terrorism at work and cyber-loafing as well as timeless topics such as employee selection techniques, performance management, leadership, diversity, career development, compensation and work rewards, and much more.

Print Reference Books

The SAGE Dictionary of Quantitative Management Research by Luiz A. M. Moutinho (Editor); Graeme D. Hutcheson (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD30.4 .S24 2011
ISBN: 9781412935203
Publication Date: 2011
A must-have reference resource for quantitative management researchers, this dictionary contains over 90 entries covering the fundamentals of quantitative methodologies; covering both analysis and implementation. Each entry gives an introduction to the topic, lists the key relevant features, gives a worked example, a concise summary and a selection of further reading suggestions. It is suitable for researchers and academics who need a handy and quick point of reference.
The SAGE Dictionary of Qualitative Management Research by Richard Thorpe (Editor); Robin Holt (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD30.4 .S23 2008
ISBN: 9781412935210
Publication Date: 2007
With over 100 entries on key concepts and theorists, the Dictionary of Qualitative Management Research provides full coverage of the field, explaining fundamental concepts and introducing new and unfamiliar terms.
The SAGE Handbook of Human Resource Management by Adrian Wilkinson (Editor); Nick A. Bacon (Editor); Tom Redman (Editor); Scott Snell (Editor)
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HF5549.15 .S24 2009
ISBN: 9781412928298
Publication Date: 2009
The handbook focuses on familiarizing the reader with the fundamentals of applied human resource management while contextualizing practice within wider theoretical considerations.