LibGuides: Business Plans: Getting Started

Resources for Information to Include in the Business Plan

A more extensive list of resources available at Industry Research LibGuide.

IBISWorld
Industry research reports for over 700 U.S. industries, at the 5-digit NAICS, and over 600 specialized U.S. industries.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Indexes and provides full-text articles from thousands of business journals and periodicals on all aspects of business.
Nexis Uni
(replaced Lexis Nexis Academic) Provides company information and full-text articles from thousands of news, business, and trade publications.

Dun & Bradstreet's Key Business Ratios
Call Number: Holland and Terrell Reference HD 47 D8
Provides ratio information for over 800 U.S. industries arranged by SIC code.

A Short Course in International Business Plans by Robert Brown; Alan S. Gutterman
Call Number: eBook - available online
Guide to Business Planning by Graham Friend; Stefan Zehle
Call Number: eBook - available online
Publication Date: 2008
A comprehensive guide to various aspects of preparing and using a business plan.

All of the print books listed below may be borrowed through Summit, if the WSU copy is checked out.

Anatomy of a Business Plan (8th edition) by Linda Pinson
Call Number: Holland & Terrell HD30.28 .P5 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Includes a chapter on nonprofits.
The Entrepreneur's Guide to Writing Business Plans and Proposals by K. Dennis Chambers
Call Number: Holland & Terrell HD62.5 .C423 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Step by step, Chambers covers how to be persuasive in writing proposals and business plans. Includes numerous examples.
Business Plans and Business Proposals by Don Debelak
Call Number: Holland & Terrell HF5718.5 .D43 2006
Publication Date: 2006
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Business Plans by Gwen Moran; Sue Johnson
Call Number: Holland & Terrell HD30.28 .M67 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Offers both the tactical and economic considerations to start and sustain your company-- and keep ahead of the competition. The book explores the crucial elements of a business plan-- with examples.
Entrepreneur Magazine's Creating a Successful Business Plan: a Step-by-Step Guide to Building Your Plan. (5th edition) by Mark Henricks
Call Number: Holland & Terrell HD30.28 .H477 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Bankable Business Plans by Edward G. Rogoff
Call Number: Holland & Terrell HD30.28 .R644 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Designed to help create a compelling business plan for any endeavor.