Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Tutorials for Getting Started with Health Science Research: Selecting a WSU Database

Self-paced tutorials for 3 WSU health science databases. Just want a refresher? View only the modules you need.

#1 Read Me First!

Upon completion of these tutorials, you will be able to:

  •  Login to a WSU database/index to find journal articles to complete class assignments and conduct your own research.
  • Conduct a basic search in CINAHL - the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature.
  • Conduct a basic search in PubMed - the preeminent index to the biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine.
  • Conduct a basic search in the Cochrane Library -- evidence-based systematic reviews for health care decision making.

There are many more topical databases available through WSU, but these three will get you started.

#2 Select & Login to WSU Databases/Indexes

NOTE: Vancouver students may also enter and authenticate through the WSU Vancouver Library website.

For access to WSU databases, enter your Network ID when prompted.

Techniques for Focusing Searching

Using the PubMed database as an example, these tutorials offer techniques for finding subject headings, focusing your search results, and keeping track of the process and results. Various databases use different approaches, but nearly all support some version of these strategies.

For now, you may choose to continue with the CINAHL, PubMed, and Cochrane tutorials, returning to this topic as you gain comfort and proficiency searching those databases. 

Selecting Subject Terms with Key Word Searching (5 minutes)

Limiting and Focusing Your Search in PubMed  (2 minutes)

Recording and Documenting Your Search History (4.5 minutes)

Proceed to the next tab: CINAHL

Director of Nursing and Spokane Academic Library Services

Electra Enslow
Contact:
Spokane Academic Library

Washington State University

(509) 368-6970
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us