Methods and Datasets - Sociology Graduate Students - WSU - LibGuides at Washington State University

Bibliography of Data-Related Literature

Bibliography of Data-Related Literature (ICPSR)
"...a continuously-updated database of thousands of citations of works using data held in the ICPSR archive. The works include journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials."
European Social Survey Bibliography Tool
"The European Social Survey (ESS) is an academically driven cross-national survey that has been conducted across Europe since its establishment in 2001. Every two years, face-to-face interviews are conducted with newly selected, cross-sectional samples."
Bibliography of Publications Using Roper Center Data
"This is a bibliography of publications that use data from the Roper Center. Some cite information on overall responses obtained from iPOLL; some are based on individual-level analyses of datasets held by the Roper Center, and others use our Presidential approval series or other indexes constructed from Roper Center data." Research articles only.
Note: We no longer have access to the Roper Center or its iPoll database, but this bibliography is still useful.

Methods Resources

Social Science Space (SAGE)
Has a mailing list for its newsletter - scroll to bottom of the page.
MethodSpace (SAGE)
Has a mailing list for its newsletter (upper right corner at the top of the page)

SAGE Research Methods
Designed to guide users to the content they need to learn a little or a lot about their method, SAGE Research Methods includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.

Datasets

Social Sciences Data: ICPSR and More
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 96 views this year

ICPSR

A major source for social science datasets for Washington State University faculty and students is the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. You can download directly from ICPSR to any computer on one of the WSU campuses. For more information about acquiring data files and what machine readable data files are held in the Holland and Terrell Libraries, see the Social Sciences Data: ICPSR and More library guide.

Finding data * Using Data * Data Management * Archiving Data

ICPSR Data User Help Center (Audio/Visual Tutorials)

Other Datasets and Data Archives

Social Sciences Data: ICPSR and More
by Lorena O'English Last Updated Apr 10, 2024 96 views this year

Pew Internet and American Life Project Datasets
Comparative Agendas Project
"The Policy Agendas Project collects and organizes data from various archived sources to trace changes in the national policy agenda and public policy outcomes since the Second World War."
Annenberg Public Policy Center Datasets
World Bank Open Data
Over 1000 indicators
Institute for Social and Policy Studies (ISPS) Data Archive
Yale
General Social Survey

UNdata
Combines 34 United Nations databases in a single search system; covers Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

About Social Science Data

About Data Description and Preservation

GIS: Geographic Information Systems

GIS at the WSU Libraries