Skip to main content

Scholarly Communication Services at WSU: Tools: ORCID, ResearcherID and Author Identifier

This guide is designed to increase awareness of significant issues associated with scholarly communication. It also presents resources for WSU researchers who wish to explore alternative avenues for sharing their scholarly work with a global audience.

Introduction

Many researchers share the same name, while others have different names during their career, or different variations of the same name. As a result, it can be difficult to link a researcher with her publications and research outputs across the course of her career. Solutions to this problem have been proffered by ORCID, ResearcherID, and Author Identifier, among others, as presented on this page.

ORCID

ORCID--Open Researcher and Contributor ID--provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognized. You can sign up for an ORCID for free to get started and build your profile using these instructions.

ResearcherID, Thomson Reuters

Web of Science also provides a unique author identifier called a ResearcherID that allows you to link your research outputs as indexed in Thomson Reuters' databases. ResearcherID collects your various publications together, even if your name has been listed differently from item to item. Please note, however, that ResearcherID works primarily within the Thomson Reuters ecosystem. To link your research more widely online, consider adopting an ORCID and pulling citations from ResearcherID and other profiles. See the following video for more information.

Author Identifier, Elsevier

Elsevier/Scopus also provides an author identifier to distinguish researchers and aggregate research outputs. Note that Washington State University does not subscribe to Scopus. However, you may want to associate a previous author identifier with your ORCID ID. You may also wish to use this free author look-up tool from Elsevier. The following video provides more information about author identifiers in Scopus.

Integrating ORCID, ResearcherID, Author Identifiers, and Google Scholar Citations Profile

It is now possible to integrate ORCID with ResearcherID, Author Identifier, and Google Scholar. You can push publications and research outputs from one system to the other by logging into each profile and enabling access between one system and the other. ORCID is facilitating this process by providing integration with an ever-expanding list of research information systems, manuscript tracking systems, grant application processes, and membership databases. Check here for full details.

To begin using ORCID, you will likely wish to import your research outputs from Web of Science and/or Scopus. The following video demonstrates this process for Web of Science, and you can also import from Scopus by following these instructions or from your Google Scholar Citations Profile by following these instructions.

Manage Your ResearcherID Profile

ResearcherID by Thomson Reuters allows you to manage and share your professional information, solve author identity issues while simultaneously adding dynamic citation metrics and collaboration networks to your personal profile. You can add publication information to your ResearcherID profile from Web of Science and EndNote. Login to get started.

Alternatively, you can add publications not available in Thomson Reuters databases by exporting RIS files and uploading these to ResearcherID. To create RIS files, locate your publications in a database and select "export RIS." For instance, in SearchIt, you can locate a book or publication, click on "Access Options," then "Actions" and "Export RIS." Note that adding these publications to your ResearcherID profile will not affect your impact metrics in Web of Science, which are calculated based on Thomson Reuters content. See below for further details about managing your ResearcherID profile.

 

Tweets by ORCID

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us