LCO covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays.

Gale's DLB cover Spanish, Latin American, and Chicano/a authors from early modern Spanish prose up until contemporary times. If you are researching a particular author, this resource will provide valuable background information and highlight resources for further study.

A great bibliography of resources for research in Spanish language and literature. Includes a guide to scholarly journals and a list of notable titles for literary history and criticism by genre, period and movement. Also includes a section on Hispanic Literature in the United States,

Explores the intersections of history and literature, placing important literary works in a historical context. Includes information on people, movements, and events that may have influenced the authors. Individually authored sections include information on the reception of the literary work at the time of its publication, as well as the historical events that frame the work. Spanish works treated include Like Water for Chocolate (Laura Esquivel), Old Gringo (Carlos Fuentes), Blood Wedding (Federico Garcia Lorca), The Death of Artemio Cruz (Carlos Fuentes), Don Quixote de La Mancha and The Little gipsy Girl (Miguel de Cervantes), Tuesday Siesta and One of these Days (Gabriel Garcia Marquez), Time of the Hero and Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter (Mario Vargas Llosa), and The House of Spirits (Isabel Allende).

This volume focuses on major fiction, poetry and non-fiction from Latin America. Organized by title, it discusses 50 works through detailed essays.

Includes separate sections covering Cuban, Spanish, Latin American and Latina/o literature and includes essays on authors such as Luisa Valenzuela, Jose Marti, Cesar Vallejo, Miguel Angel Asturias, Mario Vargas Llosa, and many others.

Includes separate sections covering Cuban, Spanish, Latin American and Latina/o literature covering authors such as Luisa Valenzuela, Jose Marti, Cesar Vallejo, Miguel Angel Asturias, Mario Vargas Llosa, and many others.

Detailed entries include a biographical introduction, reprints of notable critical essays, author primary sources, and sources for further study. Each entry attempts to provide the reader with a survey of the critical response to the author’s work, including documents that may signal a rise or decline in “literary reputation”.

Described as an attempt to “alleviate such feelings of reader inadequacy” regarding the great body of world literary works. Includes biographical and bibliographical information, on 345 authors, including Cristina Peri Rossi, Esther Tusquets, Claribel Alegría, Ernesto Cardenal, and many more. Also includes a very useful list of critical studies in English, where available.

A wonderful, annotated guide for students seeking to identify important works in the field, or to identify areas for further research. Literary sources are organized by region, and then genre.

Author entries include a critical overview of the writer’s literary work, a biographical sketch, a list of the author’s primary works, and an annotated list of further reading. Also includes entries by country, genre, topic, and literary movement.

Detailed, well-written entries are each followed by a selected bibliography of biographical and critical studies for further research.

A three volume set featuring 205 signed articles by 242 scholars from 22 countries. Topics are grouped into sections that range from “Linguistic Diversity in Latin American Literary Cultures” and “Gender and Sexual Orientation in the Historical Formation of the Cultural Imaginary”, to “Orality and Literature” and “Modernity, Modernisms and their Avatars”.

Chiefly designed to be a source of information on the various national literatures of Latin America, most entries are organized alphabetically by country, from Argentina to Venezuela. Also included are entries on “Latino Writing in the United States” and “Film”. An interesting essay on “Paraliterature” is also included, covering comic books, documentary literature and pamphlet stories, or “folhetos”.

The largest single authored reference book on the study of Cervantes. Includes detailed plot summaries, character descriptions and explanations of historical events and places referred to in the novel. If you are reading Don Quixote for the first time, you will find this book invaluable, but it is also of use to the experienced Cervantine researcher.

Published by the Real Academia Española, a painstakingly compiled vocabulary of Cervantes’ works. Fernández Gómez dedicates the work to Julio Casares, whom he describes as “Maestro y Patriarca de la Lexicografía Española”. Entries include references to where the words appear in Cervantes’ works.

The editors state that the work was only completed by virtue of the author’s “devoted love toward the immortal figure of Don Quijote”. Entries organized chapter by chapter, and line by line, so that the reader may use the guide along with the novel.