Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

Government Documents: Presidential Papers

International, Federal, and State & Local, Government Documents at WSU Libraries

Specific Presidents

Washington, George (1789-97)

- The George Washington Papers at the Library of Congress
- George Washington Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E312.72 1964
- Index to George Washington Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:W27 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:W27

Jefferson, Thomas (1801-09)

- The Thomas Jefferson Papers at the Library of Congress
- Index to Thomas Jefferson Papers, Hol Doc LC 4.7:J35

Madison, James (1809-17)

- The James Madison Papers at the Library of Congress

- James Madison Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E302 .M22x
- Index to James Madison Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:M 26 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:M 26

Monroe, James (1817-25)

- James Monroe Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E302.M75x
- Index to James Monroe Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:M 75 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:M 75

Jackson, Andrew (1829-37)

- Andrew Jackson Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E381.J33x 1961
- Index to Andrew Jackson Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:J 13 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:J 13

Van Buren, Martin (1837-41)

- Martin Van Buren Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E386 .V3 1960

Harrison, William H. (1841)

- William Henry Harrison Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E391 .H3x
- Index to William Henry Harrison Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:H 24 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:H 24

Tyler, John (1841-45)

- John Tyler Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E396 .T9x
- Index to John Tyler Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:T 97 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:T 97

Polk, James K. (1845-49)

- James K. Polk Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E417 .P6x
- Index to James K. Polk Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:P 75 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:P 75

Taylor, Zachary (1849-50)

- Zachary Taylor Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E421 .T3x
- Index to Zachary Taylor Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:T 21 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:T 21

Pierce, Franklin (1853-57)

- Franklin Pierce Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E431 .P5x
- Index to Franklin Pierce Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:P 61 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:P 61

Lincoln, Abraham (1860-65)

- The Abraham Lincoln Papers at the Library of Congress
- Abraham Lincoln Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E456 .L5x
- Index to Abraham Lincoln Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:L 63 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:L 63

Johnson, Andrew (1865-69)

- Andrew Johnson Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E415.6 .J66 1960
- Index to Andrew Johnson Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:J 63 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:J 63

Grant, Ulysses S. (1869-77)

- Ulysses S. Grant Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E660 .G76x
- Index to Ulysses S. Grant Papers, Hol Doc Ref LC 4.7:G 76 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:G 76

Garfield, James A. (1881)

- James A. Garfield Papers [microform), Hol Microfilm E660.G2 G37x
- Index to James A. Garfield Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:G 18 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:G 18

Arthur, Chester (1881-85)

- Chester A. Arthur Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E691 .A7x
- Index to Chester A. Arthur Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:Ar 7 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:Ar 7

Cleveland, Grover (1885-1889, 1893-97)

- Grover Cleveland Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E696 .C4x
- Index to Grover Cleveland Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:C 59 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:C 59

Harrison, Benjamin (1889-93)

- Benjamin Harrison Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E660.H29 H2x 1960
- Index to Benjamin Harrison Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:H24/2

McKinley, William (1897-1901)

- William McKinley Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E660 .M14x 1961
- Index to William McKinley Papers, Hol Doc Ref LC 4.7:M 21 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:M 21

Roosevelt, Theodore (1901-09)

- Theodore Roosevelt Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E756 .R66x
- Index to Theodore Roosevelt Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:R 67 v. 1-3 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:R 67 v. 1-3

Taft, William (1909-13)

- William H. Taft Papers [microform), Hol Microfilm E761 .T3x 1969
- Index to William H. Taft Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:T12 v. 1-6 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:T12 v. 1-6

Wilson, Woodrow (1913-21)

- Woodrow Wilson Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E660 .W73x 1973
- Index to Woodrow Wilson Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:W69 v. 1-3 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:W69 v. 1-3

Harding, Warren Gamaliel (1921-23)

- Warren G. Harding, 1865-1923: chronology, documents, bibliographical aids Hol E785 .U76
- Speeches and addresses of Warren G. Harding, President of the United States. Delivered during the course of his tour from Washington, D.C. to Alaska and return to San Francisco, June 20 to August 2, 1923, Hol Dewey 973.914 H219ys

Coolidge, Calvin (1923-29)

- Calvin Coolidge Papers [microform], Hol Microfilm E742.5.C76x 1959
- Index to Calvin Coolidge Papers, Hol Ref Doc LC 4.7:C 77 and Hol Doc LC 4.7:C 77

Hoover, Herbert (1929-33)

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Hoover, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1932-33   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Herbert Hoover, 1929-1933 : with the index from Proclamations and executive orders, Herbert Hoover, March 4, 1929 to March 4, 1933, Hol Ref US Doc GS 4.113:index/1929-1933
- Papers, 1926-1928 (Correspondence, and other papers, primarily dealing with the Columbia Basin Irrigation League, concerning the Columbia Basin Project), MASC Cage 4457
- State papers and other public writings of Herbert Hoover, Hol E801 .H66 1970 v. 1-2

Roosevelt, Franklin Delano (1933-45)

- Messages between Franklin D. Roosevelt and Winston S. Churchill, 1939-1945 and related materials in the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library [microform], Hol Microfilm 4042
- Public papers and addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt, with a special introduction and explanatory notes by President Roosevelt, Hol E806 .R749 v. 1-12

Truman, Harry S. (1945-53)

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Truman, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952-53   Hol Doc GS4.113
- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Harry S. Truman, 1945 1953, Hol Ref-US Doc GS 4.113:index/1961-1963
- Historical materials in the Harry S. Truman Library, Hol E742.5.T69 H37x 1987

- Addresses and statements of Harry S. Truman; a topical record from January, 1935 to April, 1945, Hol E806 .T78

Eisenhower, Dwight David (1953-61)

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Eisenhower, 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960-61   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1953-1961, Hol GS 4.113:index/1953-1961
- Papers of Dwight David Eisenhower, Hol E742.5 .E37 1970 1-13

Kennedy, John Fitzgerald, 1961-1963

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Kennedy, 1961, 1962, 1963   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, John F. Kennedy, 1961-1963, Hol Ref-US Doc GS 4.113:index/1961-1963
- Historical materials in the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Library, Hol Doc AE 1.102:H 62/2
- Kennedy presidential press conferences, Hol E841 .K374 1978
- President Kennedy's program; texts of all the President's messages to Congress, major statements, speeches and letters in the first 100 days, Hol Dewey 808.5 K383p

Johnson, Lyndon Baines, 1963-1969

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Johnson, 1963-64, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1968-69   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Lyndon B. Johnson, 1963-1969 , Hol Ref US Doc GS 4.113:index/1963-1969

Nixon, Richard Milhous, 1969-1974

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Nixon, 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Richard M. Nixon, 1969-1974 , Hol Ref US Doc GS 4.113:index/1969-1974

Ford, Gerald Rudolph, 1974-1977

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Ford, 1974, 1975, 1976-77   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Gerald R. Ford, 1974-1977, Hol Ref USDoc GS 4.113:index/1974-1977

Carter, James Earl, Jr., 1977-1981

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Carter, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980-81   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Cumulated indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, Jimmy Carter, 1977-1981, Hol Ref US Doc GS 4.113:index/1977-1981

Reagan, Ronald, 1981-1988

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Reagan, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988-89   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum

Bush, George Herbert Walker, 1989-1993

- Public Papers of the Presidents:  George H.W. Bush

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: G.H.W.Bush, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992-93   Hol Doc GS4.113

- George Bush Presidential Library and Museum

Clinton, William Jefferson, 1993-2000

- Public Papers of the Presidents:  William Clinton

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Clinton, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000-01   Hol Doc GS4.113

- William J. Clinton Presidential Library and Museum

Bush, George Walker, 2001-2009

- Public Papers of the Presidents: George Bush

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: G.W.Bush, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007   Hol Doc GS4.113

- George W. Bush Presidential Library

Obama, Barack H.

- Public Papers of the Presidents of the U.S.: Obama, 2009   Hol Doc GS4.113

- Public Papers of the Presidents:  Barack Obama

Presidential Documents--Current

The White House home page provides Presidential Speeches and Remarks, the Weekly AddressStatements and Releases, and Press Briefings.  See also Proclamations, Presidential Memoranda, and Executive Orders.

Compilation of Presidential Documents     Available on FDsys, "The Compilation of Presidential Documents collection consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary. The Compilation of Presidential Documents is published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)."

Paper copy of Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, v.1-35 (1965-2000) Holland Documents GS 4.114:

Presidential Compilations--Historical

A compilation of the messages and papers of the presidents / prepared under the direction of the Joint Committee on Printing, of the House and Senate, pursuant to an act of the Fifty-second Congress of the United States; with additions and encyclopedic index by private enterprise.   [New York] : Bureau of National Literature, 1913, c1897-1913.

WSU Holland Documents Y 4.P 93/1:3 v. 1-10
WSU Holland Reference Documents Y 4.P 93/1:3 v. 11 (index)

v. 1   1789-1823 Washington, J. Adams, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe

v. 2   1823-1837 Monroe, J.Q. Adams, Jackson, Van Buren

v. 3   1837-1846 Van Buren, Harrison, Tyler, Polk

v. 4   1846-1860 Polk, Taylor, Fillmore, Pierce, Buchanan

v. 5   1860-69 Buchanan, Lincoln, A. Johnson, Grant

v. 6   1869-1884 Grant, Hayes, Garfield, Arthur

v. 7   1884-1892 Arthur, Cleveland, Harrison

v. 8   1892-1899 Harrison, Cleveland, McKinley

v. 9    1899-1905 McKinley, T. Roosevelt

v. 10   1906-1913 T. Roosevelt, Taft, Wilson

v. 11   Index

Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States

Public Papers of the Presidents  Searchable at the National Archives and Records Administration

Public Papers of the Pesidents.  Washington : Federal Register Division, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration : For sale by the Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O., annual.

Paper copy at the WSU Libraries:  Annual cumulation of the Weekly Compilation, issued approximately 2 years after the end of the year covered.
1929-1932/1933, 1945-current issues
Hol Doc GS 4.113:

  • Hoover 1929, 1930, 1931, 1932-33
  • Truman 1945, 1946, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1952-53
  • Eisenhower 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1957, 1958, 1959, 1960-61
  • Kennedy 1961, 1962, 1963
  • Johnson 1963-64 (1-2), 1965 (1-2), 1966 (2), 1967 (1-2), 1968-69 (1-2)
  • Nixon 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974 (1)
  • Ford 1974 (2), 1975 (1-2), 1976-77 (1-3)
  • Carter 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980-81 (1-3)
  • Reagan 1981, 1982 (1-2), 1983 (1-2), 1984 (1-2), 1985 (1-2), 1986 (1-2), 1987 (1-2), 1988-89 (2)
  • Bush, George H.W. 1989 (1-2), 1990 (1-2), 1991 (1-2), 1992-93 (1-2)
  • Clinton 1993 (1-2), 1994 (1-2), 1995 (1-2), 1996 (1-2), 1997 (1-2), 1998 (1-2), 1999 (1-2), 2000-2001 (1-3)
  • Bush, George W. 2001 (1-2), 2002 (1-2), 2003 (1-2), 2004 (1-3), 2005 (1-2)
  • Later papers available online only

Indexes are issued as Cumulated Indexes to the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States.  Hol Ref Doc GS 4.113:index/ [yrs]
Hoover, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, and Carter

Inaugural addresses of the Presidents of the United States from George Washington 1789 to George Bush 1989. Hol Doc Y 1.1/3:no.101-10

State of the Union messages of the Presidents, 1790-1966. Hol J81 .C66 v. 1-3

Executive Orders, Proclamations, and Vetoes

Federal Register.  Presidential documents printed in the daily FR include proclamations, executive orders, and other documents that the President orders to be published. They are compiled annually in Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations (see below).

1936-
Hol Microfiche AE 2.106: (1985- )
Hol Microfiche GS 4.107: (1983-85)
Hol Microfilm GS 4.107: (1936-82)
Online full-text 1995-present

Code of Federal Regulations. Title 3: The President

1936-75; 1979-
Hol Ref Doc AE 2.106/3:3/ (latest 5 years)
Hol Doc AE 2.106/3:3/ (1979 to latest 5 years)
Hol Doc GS 4.108/2 (1936-1975)
Online full-text 1997-present

Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders

1945-89
Hol Ref Doc AE 2.113:
Online full-text

Presidential Vetoes

1789-1996
Hol Ref Doc Y 1.3:S. Pub.102-12 (1789-1988); Y 1.3:S. Pub.103-13 (1989-94)
Hol Doc Y 1.3:V64/2/1789-1976; Y 1.3:S. Pub.99-5 (1977-84); Y 1.3:S. Pub. 102-13 (1989-91); Y 1.3:S. Pub. 105-22 (1989-96)

Additional Presidential Resources

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us