The third edition contains nearly 800 alphabetically arranged articles. They cover a wide variety of topics, including endangered animal species, air pollution, national parks, environmental legislation, oil spills, alternative energy sources, and global climate change. In recognition of the fact that people spend an overwhelming proportion of their time in human-made environments, essays also cover such topics as sick building syndrome, noise pollution, smog, and urban planning.

This edition is the most up-to-date and comprehensive source for Environmental Resources and Statistics. Section I: Resources, provides detailed contact information for thousands of information sources, including Associations & Organizations, Awards & Honors, Conferences, Foundations & Grants, Environmental Health, Government Agencies, National Parks & Wildlife Refuges, Publications, Research Centers, Educational Programs, Green Product Catalogs, Consultants and much more. Section II: Statistics, provides statistics on hundreds of important topics, including Children's Environmental Index, Municipal Finances, Toxic Chemicals, Recycling, Climate, Air & Water Quality and more. This kind of up-to-date environmental data, all in one place, is not available anywhere else on the market place today. This new edition is a must-have for all public and academic libraries as well as any organization with a primary focus on the environment.

Completely revised and updated, Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering, Fifth Edition spans the entire spectrum of environmental science and engineering. Still the most comprehensive, authoritative reference available in this field, the monumental two-volume encyclopedia has expanded to include 87 articles on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health, to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, toxicology, radioactive waste, and water treatment. The articles have been extensively revised and updated, new ones have been added to cover the latest developments related to today's environmental problems. The result is a reference work that provides the information necessary to understand, manage, and respond to threats to the human environment.

Providing a bridge between recycling experts and the officials charged with developing and running recycling programs and operations, this practical reference offers an overview of recycling, including the current laws that govern recycling, the strategic goals of recycling programs, and the need to boost public awareness of the value of recycling. The handbook examines a wide range of recyclable materials--from papers, plastics, and cans to construction and demolition materials and household wastes. For each material, it discusses collection and separation procedures, costs, the potential for re-use, the projected market, and problems and solutions. Numerous illustrations highlight the technology used in creating an integrated system of waste management.

The most comprehensive single volume ever assembled for the environmental professional--a one-stop, all-under-one-roof overview of environmental engineering subject areas, and a task-simplifying toolkit designed to simplify day-to-day decisions. Covers the varied topics of interest for today's environmental scientist: mathematical modeling, statistics, plant pathology, as well as engineering problem-solving, management decision-making, and public communication. The perfect resource for biologists, hydrologists, geologists, engineers, chemists, and toxicologists. Packed with numerous tables, charts, illustrations, sampling methods, monitoring methods, testing methods, control techniques, equipment maintenance procedures, and calculation methods. Includes lesson-filled editorial commentary by many of the nearly 100 environmental scientists who have contributed to this book.

The Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather Second Edition is a thoroughly up-to-date resource with many additions, and revisions since the publication of the First Edition in 1996. In over 330 entries, the Encyclopedia covers essential topics that include the processes that produce weather, thecirculation of the atmosphere that generates the world's climates, classification of climates, important scientific concepts used by climatologists and meteorologists, as well as the history atmospheric sciences, biographies of noteworthy contributors to the field, and significant weather eventsfrom extreme tropical cyclones to tornadoes to hurricanes. New to this edition are articles on headline-grabbing topics that include the Kyoto Protocol, global warming, tradable permits, and extreme weather.Each entry is fully cross-referenced, to both definitions of weather- and climate-related terms as well as additional sources for further study. Over 300 photographs, maps, and charts offer highly evocative depictions of various weather and climate conditions around the world and across time. TheEncyclopedia is also equipped with historical examples of disasters caused by bad weather, milestones in the development of the atmospheric sciences, and the geological time scale, making it a comprehensive and authoritative resource for anyone doing research in this area or working in thefield.

The second edition of this important work covers additional topics of climate change mitigation and adaption strategies. It expands the scope of the first edition in the areas of mitigation and adds important new information on adaptation to climate change. Since the publication of the first edition, important new research findings have been gathered and natural events have continued to highlight the need for action.  

This authoritative resource covers all aspects of atmospheric sciences - including both theory and applications. Nearly 350 articles and over 1,900 figures and photographs are presented, many in full-color. The Encyclopedia is an ideal resource for academia, government, and industry in the fields of atmospheric, ocean, and environmental sciences. It is written at a level that allows undergraduate students to understand the material, while providing active researchers with the latest information in the field. The Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences has been developed alongside the award-winning Encyclopedia of Ocean Sciences. Together these references provide readers with a comprehensive resource and a link between these two fields. Also available online on ScienceDirect. For online version information, please visit http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/reference_works

This guide covers the fundamental scientific concepts of ecology as taught in biology and environmental science courses. It offers essays on the levels of individual organisms and their interactions with the environment, and the levels of ecosystems and global ecology, for example.

This new International Version includes all material covered in the standard eighth edition, but numerical data and calculations are expressed in Systeme International (SI) units. Completely revised, this latest edition includes new chapters on electrical systems; motors and drives; commissioning; and human behavior and facility energy management. Also updated are chapters on lighting, HVAC systems, web-based building automation, control systems, green buildings, and greenhouse gas management. Written by respected professionals, this book examines objectives of energy management and illustrates techniques proven effective for achieving results.

For the Movers, Shakers, and Policy Makers in Energy Engineering and Related Industries The latest version of a bestselling reference, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Handbook, Second Edition covers the foremost trends and technologies in energy engineering today. This new edition contains the latest material on energy planning and policy, with a focus on renewable and sustainable energy sources. It also examines nuclear energy and its place in future energy systems, includes a chapter on natural gas, and provides extensive coverage of energy storage for numerous forms of energy generation. The text also provides energy supply, demand, and pricing factor projections for the future. Explore the Future of Global Energy The authors address problems that industry now faces, including the limited availability of conventional energy resources such as oil, natural gas, and coal, and considers renewable energies such as wind power, solar energy, and biomass. They also illustrate the economics of energy efficiency, discuss the financial energy policies of various countries, consider the role of energy conservation in energy strategies, and examine the future of renewable energy technologies to build a sustainable energy system. This book is divided into five sections, providing a comprehensive look at renewable energy technologies and systems: Global Energy Systems, Policy, and Economics Energy Generation through 2025 Energy Infrastructure and Storage Renewable Technologies Biomass Energy Systems Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Handbook, Second Edition focuses on the successful promotion of a sustainable energy supply for the future, and offers new and relevant information providing a clear reference to sustainable-development goals.

Learn how to respond to the complex problems encountered in environmental management Highlighting all aspects of the spectrum of environmental control, this text provides a historical perspective on pollution problems and solutions, and offers an introduction to the specialized literature in this and related areas. It includes: Introduction to the issues Air pollution management issues Water pollution management issues Solid and radioactive waste management issues Hazardous waste management issues Pollution prevention Additional environmental concerns and management considerations New technologies and approaches Risk-related topics Recent developments Appendices

Handbook of Ecotoxicology, Second Edition focuses on toxic substances and how they affect ecosystems worldwide. It presents methods for quantifying and measuring ecotoxicological effects in the field and in the lab, as well as methods for estimating, predicting, and modeling in ecotoxicology studies. Completely revised and updated with 18 new chapters, this second edition includes contributions from over 75 international experts. Also, a Technical Review Board reviewed all manuscripts for accuracy and currency. This authoritative work is the definitive reference for students, researchers, consultants, and other professionals in the environmental sciences, toxicology, chemistry, biology, and ecology - in academia, industry, and government.

A concise up-to-date guide to all aspects of environmental pollution and cleanup. Human invention and innovation have brought about tremendous improvements in the quality of life of millions of people around the world today-but progress has its price. Environmental pollution is rapidly attacking the Earth's ecosphere. While advances have been made and new disciplines have emerged to identify, monitor, regulate, and compensate for environmental pollutants, it will take the combined efforts of numerous specialists to solve the problem. It will also take the efforts of an informed public that, through its voting and buying habits, has the power to determine whether or not the threat to our environment can be contained. This 2-volume encyclopedia provides all readers, regardless of scientific background or training, with a working knowledge of contemporary issues in environmental pollution and cleanup. Based on Wiley's critically acclaimed, 8-volume Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation, this compact A-to-Z reference features the same breadth and quality of coverage-and clarity of presentation-found in the original. It includes: * Over 200 self-contained, thoroughly cross-referenced articles on essential aspects of environmental pollution and cleanup. * Coverage of key topics in hazardous waste, air pollution control, biosphere pollution, health effects, nuclear waste, environmental law and regulation, water reclamation, and more. * Integrated coverage of both legal and policy issues and technological and environmental concerns. * Hundreds of photographs, figures, charts, and tables that help illustrate major points, explain difficult material, and summarize important data. * Bibliographic entries keyed to the text that list sources of additional information on selected topics. This book is an ideal reference for high school and college students and a convenient resource for scientists, environmental consultants, and anyone who needs clear, reliable, up-to-date information on environmental pollution and cleanup.

The fresh water supplies of the Earth are finite and as the world's population continues to grow humanity's thirst for this water seems unquenchable. Intense pressure is being exerted upon freshwater resources and a lack of adequate clean water is seen as one of the most serious global problems for the 21st century. Indeed it has been said that the next war will be fought over water, not oil. Human health and the health of supporting ecosystems increasingly depends upon our ability to find, control, manage and understand water. In a single volume, The Encyclopedia of Hydrology and Water Resources provides the reader with a comprehensive overview and understanding of the diverse field of hydrology. The intimate inclusion of material on water resources emphasizes the practical applications of this field, applications which are indispensable in any modern approach to the subject. This volume is a vital reference for all hydrologists, hydrogeologists and water engineers worldwide, whether they are concerned with the exploitation of new sources of water, the protection and management of existing reserves, or the science of surface water and groundwater flow. 114 eminent scientists from 17 countries worldwide have contributed to this authoritative volume. Superbly illustrated throughout, it includes almost 300 entries on a range of key topics, including arid and semi-arid zones, climates and climate change, floods and droughts, desertification, entropy, flow measurement, groundwater, hydrological cycle, hydrological models, infiltration, karst hydrology, paleohydrology, precipitation, remote sensing, river pollution prevention, rivers, lakes and seas, satellite hydrology, soil erosion, water treatment, water use, weather radar, and world water balance.

Among the most compelling environmental issues of today and tomorrow are those concerning the world's fresh water resources. Peter H. Gleick's important new volume, Water in Crisis, addresses the timely and sometimes controversial aspects of world water use. At stake are water quality,quantity, and possible future conflicts over shared international water resources. Nine essays by leading specialists from fields as diverse as hydrology, zoology, and law, among others, cover such issues as the status of developments in international water law; hydroelectric power; the possibleeffects of climatic change on water resources; and the state of fresh water fisheries. Particular chapters explore access to clean drinking water and sanitation; the use of water for energy and food production; the quality of rivers, lakes, and inland seas; and the condition of natural aquaticecosystems. A joint project of the Pacific Institute and the Stockholm Environment Institute, this book is a comprehensive guide to the world's fresh water resources. Hydrologists, engineers, policy makers, professionals in the environmental sciences, as well as lay readers will find Water in Crisisa dynamic resource and information-packed reference. More than 200 tables of fresh water data supplement this important volume.

The Water Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive depository of all information relating to the scientific and technological aspects of the world's most important natural resource -- water. The role of water in science, engineering and society requires a one-stop location to find whatever information is available on the cutting edge of the 21st century. This book is a resource for useful public domain data. Its focus is expert narrative on all water-related subjects.

Just as humans scale the highest mountains, they also explore the deepest depths of the world's oceans. In this lavish atlas, a variety of maps depict the fascinating geographical landmarks of the ocean floor: volcanoes that rise suddenly from the deep ocean; seamounts and ridges that contain rich mineral deposits; shipwrecks (the Titanic is only one example among many); and marine life in the hidden depths of the ocean that until now has been invisible to humans. Deep-sea exploration is one of the great achievements of the twentieth century. Expeditions to the bottom of the sea, for example Picard's groundbreaking explorations in a submersible, made sensational news. Still, these excursions to the deepest places on earth were isolated events. It wasn't until after the Second World War that a comprehensive picture of the ocean floor began to emerge. World Atlas of the Oceans brings these images together in a new and truly unique look at the oceans. The General Bathymetric Chart of the Oceans (or GEBCO), contained in this atlas, has never been published. And, relief maps and satellite images of the oceans provide detailed pictures of the hidden recesses of the world's oceans. World Atlas of the Oceans is the only cartographic work of its kind to document the ocean floor with its mountains, volcanoes, fracture zones, and outline of tectonic plates in such amazing detail.