Contains a wide variety of business and legal information, including articles from major national and international newspapers, articles from business periodicals, and company financial information. Dates of coverage vary.
A good source for finding journal articles on Communication and Mass Media topics. Incorporates CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals.
Contains abstracts of articles from 40+ professional journals, primarily in broadcasting, journalism, general communication, mass media, and public relations. Dates of coverage vary. Available to those affiliated with the Pullman campus.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and Native presses. Articles date from 1960 to the present.
More Recommended Databases:
Academic Search Complete: Provides access to many full-text articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers related to almost any topic. Coverage varies.
Communication Abstracts: Provides abstracts of articles from 100+ professional journals in all areas of communication studies, as well as books. Covers from 1978-present. On a Holland and Terrell Reference Table.
America: History & Life: Contains citations to interdisciplinary journal articles, books, reviews, and dissertations from the colonization of America to the present.
ERIC: Includes access to educational journal articles, books, theses, conference papers, documents, standards, guidelines, etc. from 1966-present.
GPO Access: Provides the full text of many U.S. government publications including legislative, judicial, executive, and regulatory information.
PAIS International: Contains citations with summaries for all types of publications in the area of world public affairs. It covers from 1972-present. The print version is also available on a Holland and Terrell Reference Table.
PsycInfo: Citations with abstracts to articles in over 2,100 psychology research journals as well as dissertations and research reports; contains full text of 50 APA journals from 1894 on. Covers 1800s - present.
Sociological Abstracts: Contains citations with abstracts to journal articles, books, conference papers, and dissertations. It covers from 1963-present.
Web of Science: Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present , Social sciences citation index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & humanities citation index from 1975 to the present. Continually updated. Provides access to several other databases through Thomson gateway.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Contains citations with abstracts and/or full-text links, indexing international literature in political science and communication disciplines from 1975 to present.
Selected Journals
WSU lists its electronic journal holdings in two locations.
First, electronic journals can be found by searching by title in the Search It, the libraries catalog and discovery system. References to electronic journals in the Search It have hypertext links to the electronic journal themselves or the database that contains that electronic journal.
The second place to look to check to see if the library has a subscription to an electronic journal is on the WSU Electronic Journals list. If you cannot find a journal that you have reason to believe should be available at WSU, or you would like to have electronic access to, please contact Erica Carlson Nicol.
Sources for Freely Available Online Newspapers and Magazines
(Also check the More Internet Links tab of this guide for links to local papers and broadcasters)
AJR NewsLink: links to 5000+ newspapers and magazines.
