Skip to main content

Business Plans: Home

Provides Business Plan templates, guides, samples, and resources for information to include in the plan.

Business Plan Templates

Standard Business Plan Outline. Bplans.com.  Lists elements of a business plan.

Business Plan Template.  U.S. Small Business Administration.  Fill in content and generate a business plan using the template.

NEBS Business Plan ToolA company that markets directly to small businesses provides this template that can be filled in to generate a business plan.

Business Plan for Nonprofits and Social Enterprises.   Nonprofits Assistance Fund.

Sample Business Plans

Business Plans Handbook.  Actual business plans  in all industries available in the Gale Virtual Reference collection.

Free Sample Business PlansBplans.com.  This site provides sample business plans in addition to selling software.

Moot Corp Competition.  Sample Business Plans.  Center for Business Planning provides award-winning sample business plans and links to web resources for planning a business.

 

International Business Plans

Use in conjunction with International Business LibGuide.

International Business Plan Sample Outline.  U.S. International Trade Administration.

Export Business Planner for Your Small Business.  U.S. Small Business Administration.

International Business Planning Checklist.  Thomas B. McVey, Williams Mullen, Washington, D.C.

Library Catalog

Search IT is the WSU Libraries new shared resource discovery service.  With Search IT patrons can now use a single search box to find journals, books, articles, media, and digitized collections. They can also access some 9 million titles and 26 million resources from 36 other higher education institutions.  Search IT replaces WSU WorldCat.

Business Plan Guides

How to Write a Business Plan.  U.S. Small Business Administration.

Writing a Successful Business Plan.  Deming Center for Entrepreneurship. University of Colorado.

Business Planning for Nonprofits: Why, When - and How it Compares to Strategic Planning.  Alliance for Nonprofit Management.

The Nonprofit Business Plan.  Donald A. Griesmann.

A Short Course in International Business Plans Charting a Strategy for Success in Global Commerce. Robert Brown.

Guide to Business Planning.  Graham Friend.  2008

All of the print books listed below may be borrowed through Summit, if the WSU copy is checked out.

Anatomy of a Business Plan: the Step-by-Step Guide to Building Your Business and Securing Your Company's Future.  (7th edition)  Holland and Terrell HD 30.28 P5 2014  Includes a chapter on nonprofits.

Entrepreneur's Guide to Writing Business Plans and Proposals.  Holland and Terrell HD 62.5 C423 2008

Perfect Phrases for Business Proposals and Business Plans : Hundreds of Ready-to-Use Phrases for Winning New Clients, Launching New Products, and Getting the Funding You Need.  Holland and Terrell HF 5718.5 D43 2006

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Business Plans. Holland and Terrell HD 30.28 M67 2005

Entrepreneur Magazine's Creating a Successful Business Plan : a Step-by-Step Guide to Building Your Plan.  (5th edition) Holland and Terrell HD 30.28 H477 2004

Bankable Business Plans.  Holland and Terrell HD 30.28 R644 2004

Resources for Information to Include in the Business Plan

More extensive list of resources available at Industry Research LibGuide.

Sources of Information for Market Analysis Part of the Business Plan:

IBISWorld.  Industry research reports for over 700 U.S. industries, at the 5-digit NAICS, and over 600 specialized U.S. industries.

Business Source Complete.  Indexes and provides full-text articles from thousands of business journals and periodicals on all aspects of business.

Nexis Uni replaced Lexis Nexis Academic.  Provides company information and full-text articles from thousands of news, business, and trade publications.

 

Sources of Information for Financials Part of the Business Plan:

eStatement Studies.  RMACovers approximately 350 U.S. industries.  Nineteen of the most widely used ratios in the financial services industry accompany the balance sheet  and income statement information, including various types of liquidity, coverage, leverage, and operating ratios.  Gives both current and historical data, arranged by NAICS code.

Dun & Bradstreet Key Business Ratios.  Holland and Terrell Reference HD 47 D8  Provides ratio information for over 800 U.S. industries arranged by SIC code.

 

 

 

Other Relevant Resources

Small Business Guide.Washington State Governor's Office for Regulatory Innovation and Assistance.

Provides information to plan, start, payroll, open, run, grow and close your business in Washington State.  Also, provides links to sources of loans and permitting information.

Sources of Free Legal Information on Washington State Law.  University of Washington Law Library.

The Business Organizations section provides links to information on starting a business in Washington State, changing business status, growing a business, licenses & permits, hiring & managing employees, taxes, doing business with the state, and finding laws & regulations.

Southeast Washington Economic Development Association.

Provides information needed to do business in Washington State.

Business and Economics Librarian

Mary Gilles's picture
Mary Gilles
Fall Semester Office Hours: Tuesdays, 2-5pm; Wednesdays, 1-4pm. Or by Appointment.
Contact:
Terrell Library 120E

Office Phone: 509-335-8740

Fax: 509-335-6721

Email Address: gilles@wsu.edu

What I Can Do for You

For students, I can:

  • Recommend the best business databases to search for your research topic
  • Answer your questions via email, phone or in-person
  • Meet with you individually or in groups to hash out your topic or discuss business research strategies
  • Tell you about library services

For faculty, I can:

  • Track down tricky citations
  • Introduce your students to research tools and strategies via a workshop
  • Create a webpage tailored to your class assignment
  • Discuss ways to best incorporate research skills and library materials into your class assignments
  • Meet with your students individually or in groups
  • Purchase books and other material needed for your research
  • Tell you about new library services
  • Communicate the department's concerns and information needs on to others in the Libraries
WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us