Skip to main content

Washington State University Libraries

Ask Us!

English 101-Powers: Home

Welcome!

This library guide has been designed for students enrolled in Laura Power's English 101 course.

Goals for today:

  • Construct, evaluate, and modify keyword searches to retrieve relevant results in the databases
  • Read an article record retrieved from Academic Search Complete to identify additional search terms through the subject headings and the abstract
  • Identify the elements of a scholarly article in order to recognize scholarly, peer-reviewed materials in the databases
  • Discuss the implications of fake, misleading, or clickbait news stories in the context of evaluating a potential source for your topic

First....a couple of questions for you!

Have you ever fallen for a fake news story?

What topic are you considering for your paper?

 

 

Evaluating the News

Our Communications librarian, Erica Nicol, has developed an excellent library guide discussing the issue of fake, satirical, clickbait, and misleading news. To access it, click on the link below:

Questions for You.....

Some useful databases for your topics....

Which database should you use? Well, this will depend on your topic. In class, we looked at Academic Search Complete, a general interdisciplinary database that covers many subject areas. Remember that if your topic relates to a specific area of research, like economics, literature, psychology, etc. you can go to the "Find Journal articles" tab on the library homepage and then select the "Databases by Subject" dropdown menu. Choose your subject, and a list of recommended databases will appear.

Below are links to some databases that you might find useful, including Academic Search Complete.

These links will take you into SearchIt, the WSU Libraries discovery system, where you will need to click on the link to the database under "Find a Copy Online."

 

Pew Research Center

The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan organization that conducts public polling on issues related to politics, news, culture, demographics, technology and trends. Their goal is to enrich public dialog on pertinent topics and inform decision making. You can try searching this site for reports and opinion polls related to your topic.

The FindIt@WSU Button

When you identify a journal article in a database, or through WSU WorldCat and do not see full text access, click on the "FindIt@WSU" button to see if we might have access to the article in another database. If the "FindIt@WSU" button only displays  an Inter Library Loan option, you will have to order a copy of the article. For more information on using FindIt, see this instructional viewlet.

WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671, Contact Us